Leopard print lovely – Burda 9/2011

So guys, I hope we are all aware of the fact that leopard-print is the new neutral? If not, it’s time to get on board. It’s the beige of the 21st century! (yes, I am aware that beige still exists).

Bearing that in mind, I have taken the gorgeous leopard print fabric I got from lovely Claire at the Brighton swap meet-up, and made the simplest/most boring t-shirt pattern in the world, the kimono sleeve jersey top from Burda 9/2011. Previously made and blogged here.

Leopard print kimono sleeve t-shirt, Burda 09/2011

This fabric is so nice. It’s super drapey and soft, but with great recovery. I did the whole thing on my overlocker, apart from stitching down the neckline seam and hemming, both of which I sewed with the stretch stitch on my normal machine.

Nothing fancy about this, it takes about an hour to cut and sew (less if you don’t keep stopping to try it on, as I compulsively do with everything I make. I even drape fabric pieces awkwardly over myself when they’ve just been cut. I hope I’m not alone in this). The only changes I made were to shorten the sleeves and add a double sided cuff, and to reinforce the top of the shoulder seam with some stay tape.

THRILLING REINFORCED SEAM CLOSE-UP!

You can see that my overlocker thread is looking a bit loopy and rubbish, but whatever, it worked. I think it’s because I’m using one different kind of thread on the left spool, having run out of white I probably need to adjust the tension or something? Any tips?

Leopard print full length kimono sleeve top

Here I am looking smug because not only did I make this awesome top, I also grew the immense tomato plant you can see to my right there. It’s a total beast, taller than me!

This top hass had a slightly sceptical reception from some people, but I love it. The print is extremely leopard-y, but if you’re going to do animal print, go big or go home, that’s what I say. I really like the other kimono sleeve top I made, but the fabric is sort of cheap and nasty whereas this stuff is bloody amazing.

No idea what gave me the hugely innovative idea to match up this fabric and pattern. I’m sure it has NOTHING to do with the fact that Zoe has a very similar top made from the exact same fabric. Or that Burda put this doppelganger example in their magazine.

Nope, don’t see the similarity. Ahem.

Here is an interesting history of leopard print which you should read! Are you a fan of animal print? Or is it all a bit too much?

15 thoughts on “Leopard print lovely – Burda 9/2011

  1. Patricia October 11, 2012 / 1:57 AM

    Check that your overlocker is threaded properly, mine looks like this when i have missed something when threading.

    • yesilikethat October 11, 2012 / 7:27 PM

      Thanks Patricia, I need to get some proper overlocker thread as well, maybe that would help.

  2. rosa September 13, 2012 / 10:09 AM

    Love the leopard spots. If you are draping and trying on excessively then maybe you need a duct-tape dummie. thats if you don’t have one already. If not you need one. Like a dress makers dummie but better cause its just your shape. I have one and it is so useful.
    http://www.google.co.nz/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=duct%20tape%20dummies&oe=UTF-8&redir_esc=&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=r69RUPekJKyviQem-4GoDw&biw=1267&bih=664&sei=uK9RUIvhMsqciQe434GADw
    Sorry that is rather a large link. it’s to google images.

  3. Chuck August 26, 2012 / 11:34 PM

    Yes, leopard so is a neutral! This looks great. I’d love to see it with something high waisted. x

  4. ooobop! August 20, 2012 / 2:51 PM

    Can never have enough leopard print! Thanks for sharing this one. I wasn’t sure about the kimono sleeves but it looks fantastic on you. Encouraging that it only takes an hour or so too 🙂

  5. gingermakes August 19, 2012 / 4:09 PM

    Love this! The leopard-y colors look great on you! I sometimes fear that I look a bit clownish in animal prints, but I love them on other people!

  6. dedivahdeals August 17, 2012 / 11:02 PM

    I love it, I have several animal print tops and shoes but they are for the cooler weather. Can’t wait to break them out this fall! Have a great weekend.

  7. TheBigForest August 17, 2012 / 8:49 PM

    We are fans of animal print, big fans. I still have some fantastic and incredibly detailed leopard print socks from the late 80’s bought in Paris but now sadly too old to wear!

  8. Sam August 17, 2012 / 3:44 PM

    Great top! It looks fantastic on you.

    I’m totally with you on the draping random cut out pattern pieces over my body, and with the excessive trying on. I’ve made a dress this week that I’m sure took twice as long as it should because I tried it on so many times.

  9. didyoumakethat August 17, 2012 / 3:40 PM

    Fabulous. Roar! Re overlocker tension: unless something is going seriously awry, I just don’t worry too much. By and large, overlocking will do what it’s meant to be doing and a few loose loops… Jeez, who cares? That’s my attitude, anyway! I love the ironic caption on your thrilling close up!

What do you think?

