The Olympic Tingle and links update

Hello! How are you? Have you got the Olympic Tingle? I totally do! Despite the horrible logo, the baffling mascots, the dodgy security, and the obnoxious corporate sponsorship, it turns out that the actual sports bit is like, amazing. I don’t know if it’s because everything’s happening just down the road, or because the athletes are so super-human and endearing at the same time, but I’m glued to the telly.

Also, because of the prolonged scaremongering from TFL about how it would be best to stock up on tinned soup and lock yourself in a secure bunker for the duration, everyone in London has scarpered. So it’s incredibly quiet. You can walk down Oxford Street on a Saturday and not see a single person (I only exaggerate slightly).

I’m also loving the Olympic nail art, on a more frivolous level. Apparently there’s a free spa and beauty salon in the athlete’s village, which has resulted in things like this:

And this:

So anyway, in between working and watching every esoteric event from archery to synchronised swimming, I haven’t had any time to update this blog. But I have been reading absolutely tons of new blogs, so I’ve revamped my lovely links list which you can see there on the right. All of them have my personal endorsement, a seal of approval which is right up there with an Olympic gold medal (a fake one from a pound shop, on a polyester ribbon).

Here are three blogs you should check out:

Hello Tailor –  V amusing mixture of commentary on high fashion and costume analysis of superhero movies

Unified Space – really knowledgable about colour. I loved this post about dyslexia and pattern vs. plain

Get Some Vintage-A-Peel – tons of amazing and obscure vintage images, with a focus on the 60s and 70s

I’m always ready to add more to my Google Reader, so I’d love to know if you have any good blog recommendations!

10 thoughts on “The Olympic Tingle and links update

  1. isolation intérieur July 1, 2013 / 8:38 AM

    Excellent web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent
    writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

  2. Zach Amellio June 18, 2013 / 6:56 PM

    Is it ok to dress such costume and not to be mistaken as a cosplayer?

  3. Chuck August 8, 2012 / 9:30 PM

    I’m enjoying the Olympics far more than I was expecting too! I’ve seen loads of it because it is on at work all day. Loving the weird, obscure sports. Looking forward to checking out those blogs. X

  4. Carolyn August 8, 2012 / 2:45 AM

    Love love love those nails, thanks for sharing the images. : ) I just found your blog and am inspired by your fashion sense.

    • yesilikethat August 15, 2012 / 8:08 PM

      Thanks Carolyn! That’s super-nice of you.

  5. Niki, unifiedspace August 7, 2012 / 6:23 PM

    A huge thank you for the shout out, you are really kind. I must get another post out but I’ve been side tracked by Olympic fever! Thank you again, 🙂

  6. emily August 6, 2012 / 5:57 PM

    Apparently those horrible phallic mascots are actually supposed to be drops of steel to represent the industrial revolution. (I know this because I too have been glued to the BBC)

    • yesilikethat August 7, 2012 / 11:35 AM

      They are terrifying. Did you see one of them attempting to muscle in on Usain Bolt’s victory celebrations??

  7. Helen Made August 6, 2012 / 8:11 AM

    I am totally hooked on the olympics! I was in London this weekend and could not get over how quiet everywhere was. So different from usual!

    I’d noticed the nail art too and just figured it was ‘the thing’ to do this year – makes more sense now knowing they have a nail spa on site! I’m seriously wishing I had union jacks on my nails right now though!

What do you think?

