Angela Merkel in a rainbow of jackets

The most popular thing I have ever posted on this blog was this Rainbow Queen image Vogue did a few months back. Who knows why, although as a big fan of both rainbow colours and clothing infographics, I’m glad to see that others agree. With that in mind, I had to highlight this image of German chancellor Angela Merkel wearing a whole Pantone colour chart of jackets:

I found it via Metafilter, who found it via NextNature.

I do feel sorry for female politicans, who are constantly scrutinised for their appearance in a way that men aren’t. There’s still no standard, unnoticeable uniform for women, the female equivalent of the suit. Of course men do get stick for their off-duty wear (who could forget William Hague’s baseball cap), but it’s more about mocking them for being out of touch with normal people. Whereas with women there’s always a nasty touch of Heat magazine sneering about it.

I think this is a pretty good, practical solution to a work uniform. When I was a kid I thought it would be cool to have a wardrobe made up of the same identical skirt, trousers, top, and shoes, but all in dozens of varying colours so you could go head-to-toe, or mix and match. (Yes, I did actually invent the idea of colour blocking. Although possibly it would have been more ‘children’s TV presenter’).

Angela has made the same dream into reality. Well done Ms Merkel. Also for leading the only solvent country left in Europe, which I guess is a slightly bigger achievement.

15 thoughts on “Angela Merkel in a rainbow of jackets

  1. G&T August 5, 2012 / 12:53 PM

    I love this more than the one of the Queen. I love how uniform and varied her wardrobe is. I bet she has one of those walk-in closets that Carrie Bradshaw gets for her shoes in “Sex and the City 1”, and that for kicks she just goes and sits in their and admires the collection. I also have a feminist dream that Hillz (http://upmyali.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/0728hillary-clinton-pantsuits_fatl-1.jpg) and Angie will retire to a World Leaders Retirement Community together and drink G&Ts all day while sporting a wide variety of velour tracksuits.

    • yesilikethat August 5, 2012 / 8:02 PM

      I hope we can also live in that community, maybe we could be the official G&T makers!

  2. John-Paul Flintoff (@jpflintoff) July 30, 2012 / 1:21 PM

    I too have seen the stories sneering at her appearance – I had no idea she commanded such a colourful range of outfits. Hat’s off!

  3. Kerry July 19, 2012 / 5:00 PM

    There was a picture of her in the Metro today alongside the glamorous Thai prime minister with a comment on how frumpy Angela looked. Give the woman a break! As you say, she obviously does a great job.

  4. gingermakes July 19, 2012 / 11:02 AM

    Wow! It’s nice to see someone in a pretty uptight field who’s not afraid of color! I was shocked when I visited Washington D.C. to see that no one wears fashionable clothes– even the young twentysomethings working in the government buildings wore drab, unstylish suits and looked like they were fifty! But you’re right– it’s totally lame the way that female politicians get judged on their appearance.

  5. theperfectnose July 19, 2012 / 2:08 AM

    I got 4 words for you. Tony Abott. Budgie Smugglers.
    To the image mobile! The rest of the world got nuthin’ on Aussie pollies. Nuthin’ I say!

    • yesilikethat July 19, 2012 / 9:27 AM

      Oh my god. Here’s hoping we never get to see David Cameron in a pair of those.

    • theperfectnose July 19, 2012 / 9:38 AM

      Told ya.. Budgie smugglers was one of the first Aussie things I learnt. I asked what it was and got shown a picture of this guy. XD

  6. Molly July 18, 2012 / 10:44 PM

    Totally agree! I think the American equivalent is Hillary Clinton, who always get’s made fun of for her colorful pant suits. I don’t think I would wear matching yellow pant suit like she would but, I like the idea of having tons of the same designs just in different colors like you mentioned.

    • yesilikethat July 19, 2012 / 9:28 AM

      Yeah, leave Hillary alone I say! There was so much fuss about her scrunchie. She is awesome and can wear whatever she likes in her hair.

  7. Beangirl July 18, 2012 / 8:24 PM

    definitely a great achievement. I wonder who makes her jacket(s). it’s fascinating.

    I’m also contemplating her decision to use the flapped pocket… seems to me a straight ol’ welt pocket would be more flattering? maybe not. businesswear isn’t really my forte by any means. this image is pretty cool though.

  8. Miriana July 18, 2012 / 7:36 PM

    Love it. But my god, how many jackets must she own. Or maybe she gets them on loan like a movie star. She also gets a small mention for being a female leader of a rather powerful country, but I think that the jacket rainbow should count as one of her greatest achievements.

What do you think?

