Apron wrap dress by Ermie

I found this dress via a great blog called Gems, and I’m now officially obsessed with it.

Apron dress by Ermie

It’s from a small US based fashion label called Ermie, and it’s called the ‘ERMIE/Myrtle Raku Apron Dress’.

Here’s why I love it so much (this is the dress in another awesome print called ‘Light of California’).

Check it out! This dress is pushing all my buttons. Not only does it have kimono sleeves and the perfect boatneck (two of my favourite things), the wrap part is an extension of the skirt. I’ve never seen this style before. Apparently it was inspired by the cut of a vintage dress in a local boutique.

I love garments like this that only use straight lines, with no zippers or buttons or closures. This dress reminds me of the traditional kimono shape, with the sleeves moved down to become a wrap skirt:

You do need really good fabric to show this style off. The Ermie prints are all stunning, you can check them out on their shop.

I love that you can tie the wrap at the front or the back, or even walk around holding it out like the model in the photo above, although that’s maybe not so practical when you need to make some tea or pay your bus fare. Expect to see a version on this blog soon (soon = within the next year or so).

17 thoughts on “Apron wrap dress by Ermie

  1. Glenda Simp July 21, 2016 / 9:51 AM

    Simple but elegant, love it

  2. Chuck July 29, 2012 / 7:12 PM

    Such an interesting shape. I like the prints but I would be interested to see it plain too. x

  3. Leanne July 12, 2012 / 4:16 PM

    Yes I Like That! Perfect for that Italian digital print you have. Bingo. Gonna definately make a version for myself. I lurve wham-bang-thank-you no fiddley fitting or finishing dress making. Brilliant find. Thanks x

  4. nicoleneedles July 12, 2012 / 12:21 PM

    Love it! I’m sure it would be easy to make something similar…

  5. Rehanon July 12, 2012 / 11:49 AM

    GAAAAHHHHH this is amazing WANT WANT WANT! You would lovely in this darling. I think it is a must.

  6. Jane July 12, 2012 / 7:57 AM

    Oh that’s really lovely, I love kimono sleeves and boat necks too (although ones that aren’t too chokey). Can you buy a pattern to make it or is it just a dress to buy? x

    • yesilikethat July 12, 2012 / 8:29 AM

      Just to buy, but I reckon it wouldn’t be too hard to make a similar dress. There’s really good instructions in the DIY Couture book for drafting up a kimono sleeve top. Definitely want to try this project, just need to find some fabric for experimenting! xx

  7. theperfectnose July 12, 2012 / 5:45 AM

    Ya I like gems too. She has a couple of other cool blogs-the vintage books one is pretty cool, lots of illustrations there. Knipmode had this pattern sometime last year March or April special I think. They had it in two variations a top and a dress for jersey. Might want to have a search for that. It’ll have you the drafting (they cover Eu sizes 34-48).

    • yesilikethat July 12, 2012 / 8:32 AM

      Thanks for the tip! Just had a look and think it’s the March issue last year, interesting pattern with a waist seam and a wrap top.

    • theperfectnose July 12, 2012 / 11:03 AM

      Yup sounds like it. And the sides look fine left down as well.

  8. Molly July 11, 2012 / 11:11 PM

    Oh, those are gorgeous! I’ll have to try doing that too….some day!

  9. gingermakes July 11, 2012 / 10:07 PM

    Eep!! This is soooooooooooooooo cute!!

  10. Kerry July 11, 2012 / 9:49 PM

    This is really cool.Make it! πŸ™‚

  11. Solii July 11, 2012 / 9:46 PM

    Oo Oo!! I love it, even I could sew that!! Hehe… you should totally use your our patterned hand fabric for it, it would look great! :o)

What do you think?

