Rain and a new dress

I give up. I can’t take this weather any more. It seems to have rained every day for the last 3 months. It rained through April. It rained through May. It rained all the way through the Queen’s Jubilee. It was the wettest June since records began. You can basically guarantee that it will piss it down all through the Olympics. We’ll all get totally sick of hearing commentators overuse the phrase ‘rain isn’t dampening spirits here!’, and we’ll be seeing lots more pictures like this:

The woman in the top right has the same facial expression I’ve been sporting for the last two months.

Somewhere I read about a conspiracy theory that the UK government deliberately foster really bad foreign language teaching in schools, because if everyone learnt to speak Spanish or Italian there would be mass emigration to warmer climates. I firmly believe this is true.

The last few weeks have been super bad, as we’ve had the worst of both worlds. Really hot, muggy weather, but with random spiteful downpours every 45 minutes or so, just to keep you on your toes.

This weather is making me very confused about what to wear and what to sew. There doesn’t seem to be any point making summer clothing, but it’s too depressing to start thinking about winter stuff. Also, I’m still deliberating on what to make with my digital print fabric from Our Patterned Hand. I really need some ideas.

I did make this dress, out of some material I bought at The Shop on Cheshire Street, which is great for vintage fabric. I think this was probably a curtain once upon a time.

I made this without a pattern, using a mixture of Alannah at Lazy Stitching’s Toast Tunic tutorial, and the Grecian dress instructions from the DIY Couture book. The neckline is finished with fold over elastic (love this stuff!) and I shirred the waistline.

The fabric’s really thick though, and the two areas of elastic make the bodice puff out in a less than flattering way. I think I might remove the shirring and turn it into a long tunic top to wear over jeans. That probably that would be more weather appropriate anyway. What do you reckon?

Also, STOP RAINING NOW PLEASE. Thank you.

19 thoughts on “Rain and a new dress

  1. Nicoline July 10, 2012 / 8:40 PM

    I really like it and I love that you made it without a pattern! Have you tried it with a wide belt? That could save you taking out the shirring… it seems a shame to lose the waistline on it.
    Summer is AWOL in Ireland too 😦

  2. Sam July 9, 2012 / 7:17 PM

    Yes, I have that same facial expression at our weather too! I second your request for it to PLEASE STOP RAINING!
    Love the fabric of your dress, I think I would probably take out the shirring too. It would be fab as a tunic over jeans!

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:51 PM

      I was in Bournemouth at the weekend and it literally rained non-stop, day and night, for 3 days. It’s too much!

  3. gingermakes July 9, 2012 / 6:59 PM

    Oh yuck, I’m so sorry to hear about the lousy weather. It really sounds miserable. If it’s any consolation, your dress is super sweet. I really, really like it! The shirring doesn’t bother me at all.

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:49 PM

      Thank you! Hmm, I might wear it around the house a bit and see how I feel.

  4. Molly July 9, 2012 / 5:26 PM

    Seems like everyone is having a nasty summer! You’ve got too much rain over there and we’ve don’t have enough over here (central US… where all the forest fires are)

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:48 PM

      I know, it’s been on the news here about the high temperatures in the US. We’ve got floods and you’ve got fires, things are just crazy this summer.

  5. Miriana July 9, 2012 / 5:14 PM

    Perhaps you need to make a lightweight waterproof – it’ll be useful any time of year!

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:48 PM

      I do have a massive army surplus rain jacket which is great for cycling, so think I’ll stick with that for a while, I suspect trying to make something waterproof would drive me insane!

  6. Miriana July 9, 2012 / 5:12 PM

    Unfortunately, being a green and pleasant land has its price – lots of rain.

    The warmth and rain is driving me nuts. Dressing to stay dry and cool is very difficult. I too love the ‘random spiteful downpours’ phrase.

    I’m also hating waking in the night and hearing the sound of rain (for the hundredth time) on the skylight that my boyfriend has stupidly broken meaning I also hear the sound of water dripping into a bucket.

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:47 PM

      It’s true, things do look lovely and green when the sun bothers to turn up. Hope you can get the skylight mended, that sounds very annoying!

  7. shivani July 9, 2012 / 4:16 PM

    “random spiteful downpours” – I couldn’t put it better! The weather is just so depressing – it’s drained me of any motivation. I just don’t want to sew (or do) anything at all. boo.
    but nice dress! I think perhaps it would look better without the shirring.

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:46 PM

      I know, it just seems like summer’s given up so why should we bother! I think it might all be delayed punishment from the weather gods for building a roof at Wimbledon, we spoiled all their fun.

  8. didyoumakethat July 9, 2012 / 2:53 PM

    Gargh, tell me about the weird heat/rain combo. I daren’t risk cycling to work now without my waterproofs (and if I wait for it to stop raining in order to cycle, I’ll never get any exercise) but it is soooo unpleasant cycling in a rain jacket when the heat is fugging about my body. Nice dress, though!

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:45 PM

      Yeah there’s nothing worse than cycling in humid rain wearing a big sweaty waterproof (although I guess cycling in freezing cold rain and wind isn’t that great either). I admire you for keeping on the bike though!

  9. Beangirl July 9, 2012 / 2:43 PM

    I love that fabric but… I think I’d probably pull out the shirring too. I think it would great over jeans. and you could always layer it for warmth. ha!

    um. at least the fabric is nice and summery and flowery and whatnot? (we’re in the second year of a major drought so I basically have the opposite problem: too hot. too dry. But seriously I think I’d take that over six months of rain… er… there’s a reason we don’t live in England!)

    • yesilikethat July 9, 2012 / 7:51 PM

      Yes the fabric reminds me of summer… I can just about remember what it’s like 🙂

What do you think?

