BeFab Be Creative digital fabric printing

Do you remember my post about BeFab Be Creative, the digital fabric printing business that my friend is setting up? Well hold on to your hats, I’ve got an update for you!

My friend Solii and her sister Zoe are planning on launching the business this September, and as Solii was down in London this week she brought along some fabric samples so I could have a look and get my grubby paws all over them.

As a reminder, this business is going to be aimed at home dressmakers, so you’ll be able to order short runs of printed fabric in any pattern you like, after you upload a jpeg with your design. Do you need a vest top covered in pictures of your cat yawning? You’ve got it! (Although maybe you shouldn’t).

These photos aren’t great, but hopefully they give you an idea. There’s something addictive about fabric samples. Without any colour or pattern, it’s so much easier to compare the way different materials look and feel.

These three are what I’d class as sturdier silks. Something a bit more steady  and easier to sew. I’d never heard of Morocain before (on the far right), but let me tell you, it was super nice. It has a beautiful drape and texture, sort of like a crepe but thicker.

This silk jersey was also incredible.

I’ve managed to crop the label off this due to my non-existent photo skills, but in the bottom left hand corner is a  lovely slubby Habotai silk/cotton mix which would be great for a loose woven tee like the Scout pattern.

There were some really nice cottons too, in light dressmaking weights and heavier stuff for home furnishings.

BeFab are trying to source as many fabrics as possible from the UK, and everything will be printed here in the UK as well. So no humongous postage costs and customs charges.

What BeFab would really like to know (and so would I, because I’m nosy) is what kind of fabrics you like to sew with? I have to confess that 90% of the time I use cotton. I really love the sort of fine, crisp cotton with a sheen that I just used for my shirt dress, but I like drapier voiles and heavier skirt fabrics too. I’ve only sewn with silk once, and I’m a bit scared of it, although I love how vibrant the colours are in silk prints. Time to branch out?

Solii will be sending out an email with some questions to the BeFab mailing list, so they can find out what kind of fabrics they should be stocking. But she’ll also be reading the comments here, so let us know what you like to sew with! Silk? Cotton? Bamboo? Camel hair?

You can sign up to the BeFab mailing list by emailing Hello@BeFabBeCreative.co.uk, or have a look at their Facebook page and Twitter feed.

23 thoughts on “BeFab Be Creative digital fabric printing

  1. pratik sheth December 17, 2013 / 5:47 PM

    Hello

    we are a beach shorts company and we would like to digitally print on nylon fabric. we can supply you with the fabric. is this something anyone can help us with. ps@prattlondon.com

  2. Emma Finlay March 13, 2013 / 6:49 PM

    can you print on body-con? I am doing a project for university and looking for somewhere that could help me out! Thanks

  3. Almond Rock July 18, 2012 / 8:53 PM

    Can’t believe you’re friends with the people behind the company! I did the questionnaire and am eager for the site to get up and running!!

    • yesilikethat July 19, 2012 / 9:29 AM

      Yeah it’s going to be great! I’m planning my designs already.

  4. Keri July 12, 2012 / 12:15 PM

    Hi everyone. I mostly sew with knits for the kidlettes, however, I am always, always, ALWAYS (get the message?) on the look out for nice fabric for me – like nice, soft, floaty, silky-soft fabric for a pretty dress or shirt. Don’t know what it would be – but something voile-y I guess…and not horrifically expensive…on a budget here…
    Keri

  5. Sophie July 10, 2012 / 10:35 PM

    I am so excited that there will soon be a fabric printer in the UK! I desperately want to use UK suppliers for the homeware I make but most are just so expensive. I noticed you said it will be mainly dress-making fabric. Will you also stock things like Linen and Cotton duck which are popular for tea towels, aprons, cushions etc? I hope so. I will definitely be a regular customer if you do! Well done girls and best of luck. Sophie, Bristol

    • yesilikethat July 11, 2012 / 1:10 PM

      Hi Sophie, I’m pretty certain there will be some home dec weight fabric in cotton and maybe linen. If you get on the mailing list there’s a chance to vote on the fabrics you’d like, at the end of this week.

    • Solii July 11, 2012 / 1:15 PM

      Hi Sophie
      We are sending out our price guide by the end of this week along with your chance to vote on which 20 fabrics we stock from a choice of 30, which include lots of different weights for dress making all the way up to upholstery! Keep an eye out on our Facebook or Twitter pages or pop us an email so we can add you to our mailing list so you can have your say on what we stock! :o)

  6. Clair July 10, 2012 / 8:14 PM

    A cotton/silk blend would be great, and a linen option. Very excited 🙂

  7. Robbie July 10, 2012 / 8:12 PM

    Jersey silk is good

  8. Sabina July 10, 2012 / 7:59 PM

    Hello, will you be printing any cashmere/silk blends? I’m looking to print a range of scarves!

    Thanks!

    • Solii July 11, 2012 / 1:04 PM

      Hi Sabina
      We do have a Cashmere option though we are still looking/working on it as it is erm… rather expensive… but then again it is oh so beautiful! We are sending out our price guide by the end of this week along with your chance to vote on which fabrics we stock from a choice of 30.
      Thanks!

  9. Sam Rowley July 10, 2012 / 7:56 PM

    Can’t wait for these to be available:-))

  10. MariaDenmark July 6, 2012 / 7:22 AM

    I like cottons as much as the next guy – but also rayon. Especially rayon knits.
    And I just hope that they’ll ship to Denmark…
    Going to sign up for the mailing list right away!

    • Solii July 7, 2012 / 4:54 PM

      Happy to ship to Denmark Maria! :o)

  11. Not Just A Mummy July 5, 2012 / 3:57 PM

    ive just finished my art and design diploma and before i start my degree ive decided to design fabric, hoping to go into textiles after my degree. ive also looked at spoonflower for printing my fabric but im in the UK and worried about shipping costs so would like something uk based. any ideas on prices or a website?

  12. theperfectnose July 5, 2012 / 1:49 AM

    Cotton and stable silks please. And stable jerseys. Although I’m not in the UK I’d really like a viable alternative to Spoonflower (who don’t always align their prints with the fabric grainline XP). How are these guys’ prices going to compare with Spoonflower? Yardage and shipping wise that is..

    • Solii July 7, 2012 / 5:18 PM

      Hi . We will have 2 great super stable Cotton Jerseys in the range (I love them!!) as well as a lovely silk one too. Regarding the print alignment this shouldn’t be a problem with our printer & prices to come this week in our mail out! Hope this helps! 🙂

  13. Shona @ Homestork July 4, 2012 / 7:48 PM

    I was recently handling some fabrics samples for curtains (out-sourced maker I’m afraid, I’m yet to get my head round a sewing machine!) and you’re right, they are addictive! It’s nice just to feel the textures and then have some fun (I find it fun…?) layer and comparison time!

  14. gingermakes July 4, 2012 / 5:29 PM

    Oh wow! These are so cool! I’m with you– I do most of my sewing with cotton. I love cotton/silk blends, too, but I’m a little scared working with just silk. I have never used wool, but I’m hoping to try out some wool and wool blends this fall.

What do you think?

