Reunited and it feels so good

Photo posed by a model

Guys, I got my camera back!

Yes, me and my beautiful LX3 have been reunited at last. I’ve never felt so happy as when I saw its little face lens staring back at me.

The moral of the story is that Southwest Trains are horrible liars, who told me twice that they didn’t have my camera. But last week I finally got the truth out of them, and went all the way to South London and back to rescue little Lumix from the bowels of Waterloo train station.

The Lost Property department is in a mysterious and secret part of the station that I never knew existed, sort of like Harry Potter if they’d got Ken Loach to direct it.

My good luck didn’t even end there. On my way out of Waterloo I somehow managed to win a free Clinique Chubby Stick in Watermelon, which is like a really really expensive tinted lip balm (my advice: definitely not worth 16 quid).

I’m still not sure where I left my camera. I thought it was on a bench at Farnborough train station, but it seems like it’s been on a journey of its own. I found these two mysterious pictures on it which I definitely didn’t take:

What does it mean? Is the person who found my camera trying to leave me a message? I’m glad they only took pictures out of the train window, it could have been a lot worse.

I already lost this camera once before when I left it on the grass beneath a huge mountain cable-car in Italy. That time some kindly German tourists took it to the ticket office. It must be related to a boomerang, although I’m going to try not to test that theory.

Anyway, sorry for this rather dull post, but now that I have my little Lumix back I have loads of updates planned. I’ve even been sewing.

I hope your week has been as brilliant as mine and that you find all your lost things.

10 thoughts on “Reunited and it feels so good

  1. Zoe July 2, 2012 / 9:11 PM

    Such a happy day indeed!!! I cannot tell you have relieved I feel for you, I know how you were suffering. Pat recently found his third crochet creations, a zombie called Erol, which was lost for MONTHS. We thought he was gone for good but he reappeared in a shoe! Hurrah for reunions! I also love that the finder took those pics and you are so right about how bad that could have been! xxxx

  2. thesecretlifeofseams June 19, 2012 / 4:08 PM

    Great news! Persistence pays off! How cool would it have been to have mystery photos of the bowels of the Waterloo lost property caverns…

  3. gingermakes June 18, 2012 / 8:10 PM

    Yay! I’m so glad you’ve been reunited! What a great end to this saga!

  4. didyoumakethat June 18, 2012 / 6:35 PM

    I’m thinking of getting a new camera. I take it you, um, recommend this one!

    • yesilikethat June 18, 2012 / 9:24 PM

      Definitely! It’s a great camera if you want something good but compact, so you don’t have to lug around a huge DLSR everywhere. You can control the aperture, the ISO etc, and the lens is amazing (it’s a Leica). Also there’s an upgrade now, the LX5, which has a few extra bells and whistles including nicer controls. The other compact camera that’s supposed to be amazing is the Canon S100 (I don’t think they look as cool as the LX3/LX5 though…). Then there’s the whole four thirds systems like the Olympus PEN, but I don’t know much about them.

  5. Donna June 18, 2012 / 11:44 AM

    I’m glad you got your camera back! Interesting train photos…

  6. Jane's sew & tell June 18, 2012 / 11:21 AM

    Pleased to hear you have your camera back and love the mystery photos – I’m sure there is a story behind them!

  7. Melizza June 18, 2012 / 10:04 AM

    What a lucky camera you have there. Glad you got it back!

  8. shivani June 18, 2012 / 9:45 AM

    hurrah! I love a happy ending 🙂

What do you think?

