Things I learned from Me-Made-May

  • I’ve made enough clothes to wear something hand-made every day, without it being a struggle. Hooray!
  • I haven’t got enough to wear 70% hand-made, which was my goal. I’m going to work towards that though.
  • I wear too much blue.
  • I need to make more skirts. And trousers. And day dresses. Casual things. But in more interesting fabrics.
  • I don’t need to make any more skirts from denim. ‘A denim skirt’! I say to myself. ‘Now that would always come in handy. That’s definitely the missing gap in my wardrobe’. Doing MMM opened my eyes to the fact that I have about 8 and that I wear too much denim anyway (it’s the safe option).
Heatwave in Bournemouth! Not pictured: cardigan (it was in the car).
  • I have a serious problem with cardigans. I wore one every day in May, except for that week when England unexpectedly turned into Spain*. I think I’ve worn a cardigan every day for the last 15 years. I have so many cardigans that several of my Flickr photos were favourited by a creepy cardigan fetishist (no lie). I may need knitwear rehab.
    * Even then I carried one around in case of a sudden cold snap
  • Taking a photo of yourself every day gives you a startlingly different perspective on your style. It’s recommended!
  • I’d like to be more adventurous with the clothes I sew. I’m BORED of wearing navy blue and beige.
  • Three weeks of torrential rain, followed by a heatwave, then back to the monsoon again, really tests the versatility of a home-made wardrobe.
  • Leaving your camera on the platform at Farnborough station will put a serious dampener on documentation of Me-Made-May (and blogging in general).

(p.s. HUGE thanks to Zoe for organising the whole thing!)

(p.p.s. Anyone looking to sell an old camera?)

11 thoughts on “Things I learned from Me-Made-May

  1. mancunianvintage June 29, 2012 / 10:02 AM

    You need a cardie in this country though – as you say – one minute it’s freezing/wet and the next it’s heat-wave time. Btw I think your MMM went really well, I like the variety!

  2. Helen Made June 7, 2012 / 7:56 AM

    Ah the joys of flicker – there seems to have been loads of creepy people favouriting people this year by all accounts! Shame about your camera – know how you feel though. I managed to throw my compact camera on the patio during MMM and bent the lens so that can’t be used any more.

    • yesilikethat June 9, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      Oh no, how annoying! x

  3. Minnado June 7, 2012 / 6:22 AM

    You have some great outfits. I too have to confess to wearing too many cardigans. Is it a british thing? In january I bought a charity shop monsoon jumper and wore it lots, feeling daring but no one seemed to notice! I too had that cardigan fetish person favourite me. I have since altered my privacy settings on flickr.

    • yesilikethat June 9, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      Jumpers are great! Maybe I could wean myself off cardigans if I had some more….

  4. theperfectnose June 6, 2012 / 10:24 PM

    hahahaha creepy cardigan fetishist.. XD Why don’t you guys set your photos so only people in the group can see them? No camera sorry, I’m using Carl’s old one at the mo’ but I love the orange skirt, I think it’s my favourite out of all your makes (apart from the blouse). See you around XD

    • yesilikethat June 9, 2012 / 8:11 PM

      Ah it doesn’t bother me too much, it’s kind of amusing. Maybe the poor guy lives somewhere really hot and he never gets to see so much as a glimpse of a cardigan except on flickr. Unfortunately I didn’t make the orange skirt! But I do love it loads, it’s from COS>

  5. gingermakes June 6, 2012 / 10:14 PM

    Oh no! So sorry about your camera! I think you have such a cute style! Cardigans are great for a climate like yours when you don’t really know what to expect! But if you’re looking for a little change, what about making a blazer? I bet you would get lots of wear out of one!

    • yesilikethat June 9, 2012 / 8:11 PM

      Thanks dude! Great idea about the blazer. Not sure if my sewing skills are up to that but I’d love to make one.

  6. Kerry June 6, 2012 / 8:54 PM

    I had the creepy cardigan person favourite one of my photos too!! Last year it was sock fetishists who kept favouriting me, so at least it’s a change 🙂

    • yesilikethat June 6, 2012 / 9:03 PM

      Oh yeah I’ve encountered one of the sock guys as well. And worse. x

What do you think?

