New Burda plaid skirt – 104/02/2010

I wear a lot of skirts. But somehow I hardly ever sew them, which creates a problem. I did have a try with my blue pencil number, but it’s a bit too formal for everyday wear.

With Me-Made-May coming up, I needed to even up the skirt balance a bit, so I made this simple A-line from Burda (104 from 02/2010- many good reviews on Pattern Review here). I sewed a version in denim first, which is wearable but a bit rubbish. This second try was more successful.

The fabric was another awesome score from the Brighton swap meet-up. It’s a sort of thick, wool-like plaid cotton, and I added a lining of American D-Kripp from Ultimate Craft in Stoke Newington (still no idea what the hell it is, apart from 1.50 a metre. Some sort of polyester?). As you can see, I made no attempt to match the pattern on the back, which I’m cool with.

Not much else to say about this – it’s a great basic pattern and a minimal amount of tracing. Burda sheets are such crazy illegible messes now that anything more than 4 pieces will give you a free nervous breakdown along with your new pattern. I was tempted by the drapey jersey dress in this month’s issue until I saw that there was FOURTEEN pieces to trace. Maybe I should get an intern just to do my Burda tracing (‘exciting new position in the fashion industry!’)

I cut the pocket pieces and the waistband on the bias to make the most of the plaid, and I used the Sewaholic brilliant zip insertion method, on Tasia’a blog here.

Sorry about my usual awkward posing. Bonus points if you can name any books/items of furniture from IKEA in the photos!

16 thoughts on “New Burda plaid skirt – 104/02/2010

  1. PanicaLab June 19, 2012 / 3:05 PM

    Hello! I love your skirt!!!
    I have a question though… Did you by any chance have any problems with the waist band? I try to sew this skirt too and it seams like the waist band is too small. I checked everything twice but same thing.

    Thank you!

    • yesilikethat June 19, 2012 / 3:33 PM

      Hello! It was fine for me, don’t remember any problems…You could try cutting another one with a bigger seam allowance if you have enough fabric, then adjust it to fit?

  2. quietandsmall April 29, 2012 / 5:17 PM

    gorgeous plaid fabric and i love the bias detailing. i have to say, this skirt is totally steal-worthy, lucky you live so far away!! 🙂

  3. Zedpea April 27, 2012 / 1:28 PM

    Everyone’s claimed the Murakami and Billy shelves so I’ll say … Margaret Atwood! Plus a bit of Orwell! Very cultured indeed, plus lovely skirt…!

  4. thesecretlifeofseams April 27, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    I really like the bias pockets, and d-kripp, yeah! Separates are totally the way to go for MMM 12.
    I spotted those Murakami spines as soon as I saw your pic, I wrote about him for my masters dissertation! Which is your favourite? Wind-up bird chronicle for me.

  5. gingermakes April 26, 2012 / 3:13 PM

    Cute skirt! I really like that plaid, and the bias-cut pieces really make it interesting. Great job!

  6. MariaDenmark April 26, 2012 / 7:11 AM

    Very nice everyday skirt. Seems to be perfect for wearing with flats. I need some too, might go looking for that issue (or should I just sit down and draft my own – how big is the flare on this skirt?
    I of course recognised the Billy bookcases as well (and I’ll take the extra points any day:-)- I think we have 8 of them in our house at the moment.

    • yesilikethat April 26, 2012 / 2:39 PM

      The flare is not huge, it’s a very gentle a-line. I took the top in a bit as I seem to have weirdly shaped hips, but it’s an easy skirt to customise. I think it would be draft-able but I am extremely lazy and it’s nice to have it all done for you… 🙂

  7. shivani April 24, 2012 / 10:50 AM

    love the skirt! looks like a good basic skirt pattern – might have to investigate further!

    ahh – Billy bookcases! We have a nice selection of our own, which sometimes feature in my photos!

    • shivani April 24, 2012 / 3:40 PM

      ps, I spot the mitford sisters’ letters. 🙂

    • yesilikethat April 26, 2012 / 2:39 PM

      Nice spot! I have the Mitford sisters and the book of Decca’s letters which is one of my favourite books of all time.

  8. didyoumakethat April 24, 2012 / 9:09 AM

    The ubiquitous Billy bookcase! I have two of them myself. But they’re so good! Non-fussy, affordable – why wouldn’t half the Western world own one?!!! Frustratingly, I can’t spot any of the books, though there’s an author you like who writes series or faithfully to a genre, as you have four of his or her books. Who is it, who is it?! The skirt, of course, is lovely. Sounds as though the Brighton meet up was a roaring success.

    • yesilikethat April 24, 2012 / 9:22 AM

      Ah the good old Billy. It’s scary to think how many there are in the world, if attached end to end they would surely reach to Mars and back! The author is Haruki Murakami who I love, I did have even more with the same style of cover but they are lost somewhere at a friend’s house. Never lend out your favourite books…

  9. Jane's sew & tell April 24, 2012 / 7:46 AM

    Nice skirt. Looks useful and comfortable as well as stylish

What do you think?

