Put a bird on it

I’m totally obsessed with birds at the moment. Or more specifically, tropical birds. They’re just so colourful and bright and hilarious-looking, like a big joke that nature is playing on us.

Photo from National Geographic

I can’t get my own parrot or macaw (they’re really a big commitment) so I have to make do with a Pinterest board instead. See how technology can improve our lives.

Now, when it comes to fabric, I am fussy about bird prints. I’m not really into small, boring repeats. Neither do I want to see owls, swallows, or generic bird silhouettes. I want massive tropical birds and I want them now! Like this one:

Parrot print dress

This dress may be silly in many ways but I love the 60s silhouette, and of course, the giant parrot.

For something a bit more jaw-dropping, what about this Alexander McQueen  dress from 2003?

I love the way this hangs between being both an over-the-top carnival costume, and the most beautiful evening dress in the world.

I already have this gold, mirrored parakeet necklace by Tatty Devine:

Tatty Devine gold parakeet
Tatty Devine gold parakeet

The shape reminds me of the giant condor that’s been etched into the Peruvian desert, one of the Nazca lines.   Nobody knows why the lines are there.

And finally, what about this Peter Jensen dress? I am not a peplum fan, to be honest, but the parrot print is nice.

Peter Jensen Parrot Dress from SS12

All of this lovely parrot print fabric doesn’t seem to be trickling down to London fabric shops, unfortunately (although Peter Jensen’s studio is actually in Dalston – maybe I should hang around outside and check the bins).

All I could find was some Liberty print fabric called Pauly Parrot, which is too small and tasteful for me. I did also track down this macaw print vintage fabric on Ebay:

Vintage Macaw Print Fabric by DaisygatorHome on Etsy

I’m very tempted to be honest.

Do you have any unusual fabric obsessions?

11 thoughts on “Put a bird on it

    • yesilikethat April 7, 2012 / 8:24 AM

      Wow, I love it! Thanks Anna. It would make an amazing tropical dress…

  1. Joanne April 5, 2012 / 2:31 PM

    I know I’m a bit late to the conversation but just found your blog! I’m a bit obsessed with finding just the *right* kind of fox print fabric – mustn’t be too quilting-cottony or too cutesey. Also I’d love to find some sheer fabric in moss green with black swans. Choosy? Moi? 🙂

    • yesilikethat April 5, 2012 / 5:21 PM

      It IS hard to find good fox fabric, those quilters ruin everything! 🙂 Swan fabric sounds super amaze, this must happen.

  2. antiquebeak March 16, 2012 / 9:50 PM

    I am obsessed with birds as well and have a few live Parrots of my own (4). Even my businesses have to do with birds – one, avian themed antiques and collectibles, the other bird themed jewelry and accessories (workng on home decor, too…a bird bird-brained wouldn’t you say?) Love the dresses you referenced above and even pinned a couple on my “Brd Inspired Clothing” board on Pinterest. Thanks for your post.

    Jennifer

  3. Susanne March 14, 2012 / 2:45 AM

    I’ll admit I thought this post would mention Portlandia at some point (“Put a bird on it and call it art”).

    My obsession is cats… it smacks of crazy-cat-lady but once I got a cat dress and finally finished my cat sweater I decided there’s no reason NOT to have more clothing with cats on. Now I just need to find some cat fabric that’s actually cool. I still kind of regret not getting this cat-print top I saw at the Gap, even though the cuffs were about 2″ too small for my arms.

    • yesilikethat March 14, 2012 / 8:06 AM

      Thought I’d just leave the reference hanging there… 🙂

      Have you seen Victoria Beckham’s new diffusion line? There is a very cute cat-print dress. Shame it’s massively expensively though.

  4. Jane March 13, 2012 / 9:43 AM

    They’re ten a penny nowadays but my not-so-unusual fabric obsession is anything with an apple print! Love that Tatty Devine necklace. And as for that vintage parrot fabric, I think you should go and buy it now, just because. x

  5. Jane's sew & tell March 13, 2012 / 8:34 AM

    Let us know when you find some of that fabric. It looks fab!

What do you think?

