Zig Zag Art Deco

I love this super-bright zig zag fabric print. It’s so colourful!

Zig Zag Garnet Anna Maria Horner Fabric

It’s a cotton velveteen designed by Anna Maria Horner, which you can now buy in the UK from a new online craft shop called The Village Haberdashery. They also have some lovely solid-coloured cotton voiles, and a good selection of sewing patterns. Worth checking out.

The zig zags remind me of these 1920s sketches by Sonia Delaunay, a modernist artist and textile designer.

Sonia Delaunay sketches from the FIT archives
Sonia Delauney sketch from the FIT archive on Flickr
Sonia Delaunay sketch from the FIT archive on Flickr

These pictures are from The Fashion Institute of Technology in New York, who now have material from their library archive available to view on Flickr. You can look at original drawings by Dior, Balenciaga, Lanvin, Givenchy – the list goes on and on. I discovered them through this blog called Mixed Up.

I spent quite a lot of time clicking through all the sets. It’s amazing that everyone can access these beautiful sketches. There’s so much inspiration to be had online now! (and a fair amount of time-wasting distraction as well, I have to admit…)

4 thoughts on “Zig Zag Art Deco

  1. teacher christmas gift ideas pinterest December 21, 2012 / 6:53 AM

    Right here is the right web site for anybody who wants to understand this topic.

    You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that
    I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  2. gingermakes March 12, 2012 / 7:30 PM

    Wow, I love that fabric! So cool! Although, as Karen pointed out, I’d find be terrified about trying to match seams!

  3. didyoumakethat March 12, 2012 / 12:00 PM

    I love that print, too. I love me a geometric. I’d have to think very carefully what I was making with it, though – as few seams to match up as possible!

  4. Kerry March 9, 2012 / 12:00 PM

    Gorgeous fabric, and totally Delauney. Thanks for the Flickr link 🙂

What do you think?

