New reading material

Thank you to the lovely ladies Handmade Jane and Laura from Purl About Town, who were both kind enough to nominate me for a blog award.

I’m not super familiar with the whole blog award concept, so instead I’ve decided to use the occasion for some incoherent rambling, on the topic of:

What I like reading in other people’s blogs

I like reading. No, I love reading. I will read anything, and in any medium. Books, my Kindle, newspapers, the back of cereal packets, even comments on Youtube videos if nothing else is available.

Probably should have tidied these books up before I took this photo

What this means is that I read WAY too many blogs. This is what I like about my favourites:

  • There’s something to read – something to get your teeth into. That’s why I can’t get on with Tumblr. I need to know what you think about your instagrammed pictures of macaroons.
  • An interesting tone of voice. My favourite blogs are the ones that make me laugh.
  • Subject matter I don’t know much about and/or couldn’t replicate myself.

With that in mind, here are links to five blogs I love. They’re mostly non-sewing related, as I guess (rightly or wrongly) most people reading this also read most of the awesome sewing blogs that are out there.

Adult Beginner – This is all about ballet, but don’t let that put you off if the thought of pointy feet and leotard chat puts you in a cold sweat. It’s super funny, and I think you’ll enjoy it if you know what it’s like to have an all-consuming hobby.

Chuck’s Miscellany – A lovely miscellany it is too, with book reviews, outfit posts, cooking and photography all jumbled together.

Where the Lovely Things Are: Everything she posts about is highly covetable – clothes, art, prints, books, movies. She also runs the super-awesome Wear Color tumblr blog I posted about a while back.

Mimi Smartypants – Old school, long-running, infrequently updated diary blog. V funny. I once spent two days reading her entire archive.

Final Fashion – I love this blog by a fashion design graduate and illustrator.  Insightful, intelligent, and realistic about the way the fashion industry works.

Closing thoughts

I’d just like to say that I hate the word ‘blog’, and have now typed it so many times it has lost all meaning for me. It sounds like a plumbing term.  Can anyone come up with an alternative?

5 thoughts on “New reading material

  1. Chuck March 2, 2012 / 1:42 PM

    Aww, you are lovely and so is your book case! Having major book case trauma at home – bought a cheap one and it is listing very dangerously under the weight of all my books. It is a disaster waiting to happen… Definitely going to go check out some of these blogs now. x

  2. Anne March 1, 2012 / 5:17 PM

    great post! I’ve introduced my daughter (a budding aspiring ballerina) to adult beginner…super interesting post! Thanks 🙂

  3. didyoumakethat March 1, 2012 / 3:58 PM

    Thank you soooooo much for introducing me to these new blogs. Final Fashion is brilliant, though I feel exceptionally shallow and silly by comparison!

  4. Elizabeth March 1, 2012 / 1:49 PM

    ‘Blog’ is short for ‘Web Log’ hence ‘Blog’ not sure if you knew that.

    • yesilikethat March 1, 2012 / 2:40 PM

      Hey Elizabeth, I did know that, but I still think it’s an ugly word! There’s something about the sound of it I don’t like…

What do you think?

