Muppet blue pencil skirt PLUS bonus Sorbetto

I have been sewing!

It’s true, even if you wouldn’t be able to guess it from reading this blog. I’ve just been too busy writing endless job applications, attempting to get our boiler fixed, and practising my new Ballet Workout exercise DVD (okay, I haven’t actually done that last one very much).

I’ve even been keeping my resolution of sewing with Burda patterns. This skirt is from 08/2011, made in lovely felty wool from Fabricland. The top is another Sorbetto.

I’ve pressed the heck out of these darts but they still look strange. Hmmm. I liked this skirt because of the lovely inverted pleat and petersham waistband, but I added a few details:

  • A lining (made from the mysterious American D-Kripp from Ultimate Craft! At 1.50 a metre you can’t go wrong)
  • Pockets, also from the enigmatic D-Kripp
  • A back vent, from this A Fashionable Stitch tutorial. I didn’t incorporate the lining. I had a look at an old RTW pencil skirt and there’s a big hemmed rectangle cut out of the lining back seam, so I did the same here. Well, if it’s good enough for M&S…

I’ve had NO luck with my stupid Burda invisible zip foot lately. The teeth just get stuck in the groove, resulting in little fabric puckers all the way down.

I put this one in with a normal zipper foot, but it’s less than perfect. Any top tips? You can see how rubbish it is here:

The Sorbetto is entirely stash-made, from fabric and bias binding left over from my birthday dress, as well as various random trimmings I found while having a tidy up. There are three tiny pearl buttons at the top. It’s a possibly a teeny bit too Per Una-esque, but I like it anyway.

I have one and a half metres left of this bright blue wool fabric, so I’m thinking another skirt might be useful, only this time one I can wear on my bike (Have you ever tried cycling in a pencil skirt? Not recommended).

There is a matching jacket in the Burda issue, but I’m not sure I could pull off a whole outfit in what I like to call ‘Cookie Monster Blue’…

17 thoughts on “Muppet blue pencil skirt PLUS bonus Sorbetto

  1. ooobop! February 22, 2012 / 8:37 PM

    Ooo I must have missed that skirt in that issue. Probably because yours is much better! I’ve always wondered about those invisible zipper feet and painfully plodded on with a zipper foot. I think it might just be a case of practice makes perfect! And yes, I might be inclined avoid the whole matching blue skirt and jacket thing…. short of the Cookie Monster, more like Maggie Thatcher…eeek!

  2. Chuck February 22, 2012 / 8:07 PM

    Ooh, I like the colour! And the waistband. And the fit. It looks excellent on the bum (is that weird to say?). I don’t think cycling in pencil skirts sounds fun – it can be enough of a challenge to walk in them sometimes! x

    • yesilikethat February 22, 2012 / 9:16 PM

      Ha ha thanks, wasn’t sure about posting the back view but for once I managed to make something fit so thought I might as well show it off! x

    • brhowto0 February 22, 2012 / 9:25 PM

      well nothing easy is worth while,I figure that I cannot do any worse then what we have to buy .Each project I do gets better and better.I have a lot of stuff that is to small.Its how we learn.My sister in law is a seamstress.She has been a big help to me.If I can be of any help let me know ,I to have a blog on word press .I have been following you since Christmas. Happy sewing Gail . howtosewdotcom.word-press.com

  3. brhowto0 February 22, 2012 / 6:07 PM

    Love the skirt ,waist bands i think are hard you are a little off ,I do a lot of basting ,That skirt looks great in the back but in the front are the seams straight on the inside or maybe it just needs to washed so the lining ,could be the bulge.?I would check in these areas to get it to hang better first .

    • yesilikethat February 22, 2012 / 7:12 PM

      Thanks, good idea I haven’t washed it since I’ve sewn it, I did pre-wash the wool so should be able to stick it in the machine on a gentle cycle. Maybe that will sort out my wonky darts…

  4. shivani February 22, 2012 / 12:43 PM

    love the skirt – the colour is amazing! The sorbetto is fab too – love the print. For cycling, I would avoid a full circle – or wear shorts underneath – or a sudden gust of wind might reveal more than you’d intend! x

  5. Kerry February 21, 2012 / 6:55 PM

    Love the blue skirt! Looks great with your Sorbetto too.

  6. gingermakes February 21, 2012 / 2:07 AM

    Beautiful color! I like the inverted pleat, too. I can’t quite wrap my head around that back vent tutorial– I have a wiggle dress that just needs to be lined/vented, and I can’t understand what to do! Sigh…

    Personally, I think this blue wool would be lovely as a Crescent skirt!

  7. Jane February 20, 2012 / 6:15 PM

    Gorgeous! Love the skirt AND the Sorbetto, I especially like the Petersham waistband, I want to try that soon. You really suit cookie monster blue too by the way! x

  8. leahfranqui February 20, 2012 / 5:36 PM

    I love this color! Such a cute skirt! I think circle or half circle skirts are best for biking, personally.

  9. Stevie February 20, 2012 / 2:15 PM

    fab! the skirt colour is great! Love the fabric for your sorbetto too! xx

What do you think?

