Brighton sewing meet-up and swap

This weekend I went to Brighton for a meet-up and swap organised by Zoe and Claire. I was a little nervous about meeting lots of strangers from the internet (as your gran would say) but it was totally fun and I had a great time.

The swap was epic and took at least an hour. I feel a tad guilty at how much great stuff I managed to snag, but at least the things I brought found a good home (looking forward to seeing what the stylish Rehanon makes with some hot pink tie-dye fabric I swapped)

Highlights for me were:

– Turning up wearing the same hat and gloves set (hand-knitted obvs) as Shivani of Pins and Needles

– Finding this unique fabric in Ditto. Is this a famous photo I am too culturally illiterate to recognise? You can now buy it splashed across jersey knit in no less than three different colourways. I guess it could be good for…no, actually, I can’t think of anything.

– Zoe’s rather excellent 70s pattern for high-waisted flares (please note that the model is working the classic hand to face pose)

– The swap: like free shopping, with the added bonus of clearing out fabric that you’ll never use (but that someone else loves).

– Meeting Julia of The Secret Life of Seams and admiring her truly amazing tiger-print dress in person

– Hanging out with lots of other super-nice sewing ladies.

– Going to Brighton again. I went to uni there and haven’t been back for ages. We were so busy chatting and swapping I didn’t have time to look round Snooper’s Paradise, gaze at the sea, play the 2p machines on the pier, or eat lots of doughnuts. Next time for sure.

Here’s my haul from the swap. I actually came back with more than I took, which wasn’t exactly the plan, but I love all of it:

The top fabric is from Ditto. My boyfriend took one look at it and described it as ‘Beetlejuice chic’ but whatever, I think it’s cool. It is channelling a sort of hip prison uniform vibe, which should go nicely with my lady prison warden dress (maybe I will sew a incarceration themed collection, along the lines of ‘Derelicte‘. What do you think of ‘Pénitentiaire‘?)

Zoe and Claire v kindly made us a goody bag each containing zips, buttons, and pipings, which is on the left.

I’d also like to draw your attention to the 1970s pattern in the lower-right hand corner, which for some reason nobody else wanted to take home. It’s a beauty, and I think it deserves a post of it’s own, which I’m sure you are now hugely looking forward to.

Thank you SO much to Zoe and Claire for organising, it was great!

11 thoughts on “Brighton sewing meet-up and swap

  1. Rehanon February 6, 2012 / 4:05 PM

    Hey darling so nice to meet you and thanks much for the far out fabric. I’m using the yellow one to make a little top with the pattern I gnabbed from Zoe. Can’t wait to see how you rock the leopard I’m sure it’ll be fabulous. Looking forward to rendezvousing again soon.

    xxx

  2. shivani February 6, 2012 / 11:11 AM

    It was really lovely to meet you, Kathryn! I love the idea of Pénitentiaire – perhaps for summer, an orange chain-gang style playsuit?
    hope to catch up again soon! x

  3. Claire (aka Seemane) February 6, 2012 / 10:03 AM

    Hi Ladies – you’re most welcome re: the eBay link!

    ‘Cos they sell you 4-cones for £12 (£8 + £4 P&P) what I do is buy 4 different colours at a time (rather than the norm of getting 4 of the same to fit the 4 spools on my overlocker machine).

    My reasoning is they’ll cost me less money in the long run & last longer too – I wind the colour I need to sew with onto x4 bobbins – and use the bobbins on the overlocker. By keeping the big cone off of the machine I can use it to wind-up extra fresh bobbins when the existing ones look like they are about to run out. I then tie the ends together so I don’t have to re-thread (if I had used 3 bobbins + the big cone – I’d have to unthread the cone each time I needed to top-up a bobbin eeek!).

    P.S. That seller sells M75 + M120 weight thread, the M120 is the standard weight for overlocking, the M75 is thicker/heavier – I usually buy the M120 stuff, and I use it on my straight-stitch/zag-zag machine fine too (I use it with my homemade cone adaptor LOL!).

    • shivani February 6, 2012 / 11:09 AM

      Claire – you continue to amaze me with your knowledge! x

    • yesilikethat February 6, 2012 / 8:19 AM

      Thanks Claire, it was great to meet you too! Ebay shop looks brill, will get ordering. x

    • Jane February 6, 2012 / 9:20 AM

      Wish I could have made it. Just nabbed that ebay link from Claire and ordered some cones – thanks! x

What do you think?

