Tinder-iffic

Tinder!! 

Is what I should have shouted on finishing this cardigan. Unfortunately I didn’t, but here it is anyway.

Tinder cardigan by Jared Flood

This is Tinder by Brooklyn Tweed, and I’ve only just got round to photographing it because I’ve hardly taken it off since it was finished.

I love it! Also, I knitted it in record time for me. Less than two months. This was partly down to several train journeys I had to take, but mostly I owe this jumper to watching Strictly Come Dancing with my friend Lucy every week. It’s perfect knitting TV – two hours long and not very mentally taxing.

Extreme basketweave close-up

It’s hard for me to choose the right knitting pattern, not just because of my problems with decisiveness, but also because I am incredibly picky. Everything is either too tight, too loose, too ruffly, too plain, or too detailed. But when I saw Tinder, it was love at first sight. The basketweave stitch pattern! The raglan sleeves! The reverse stocking stitch sleeves!

I know I look a bit scared but I'm actually grinning with joy

It used 8 and a half balls of Rowan Silky Tweed which I got in the John Lewis sale last year. It’s gone a bit bobbly but is otherwise bearing up well from constant wearing.

The only two things I would change are:

– I’ve really gone off green lately. Wish I’d bought the yarn in a different colour.

– If I knitted it again I’d put pockets into the ribbing, as some people on Ravelry have done.

The buttons are rather shockingly NOT from Ultimate Craft, but from Dalston Mill Fabrics instead. Sorry UC, but you let me down this time.

I think the nicest thing about knitting your own clothing is that you control what it’s made of. Here is a 53% acrylic cardigan from Juicy Couture which costs £255. The horror! My Tinder cost me £40 in wool, which isn’t cheap, but it is 90% lambswool and 10% silk, so there.

Next up – more hats. I normally knit a couple of new hats every winter but this year haven’t managed even one (except for a Christmas present, which doesn’t count). Anyone else planning some late winter knitting projects?

9 thoughts on “Tinder-iffic

  1. Dorota G January 29, 2012 / 11:54 AM

    Hello, love the cardie, love the dress(very much!), but can we have more photos of the sofa please?! what is that fabric? 🙂 D x

    • yesilikethat January 29, 2012 / 12:30 PM

      Yo dude, it’s a quilt my mum made! I will take a picture of it, I love it xx

  2. Kerry January 25, 2012 / 10:41 PM

    So lovely! Great colour and looks like a good combination of warm and stylish – alwasy a winner! Like you, I can no nolger bring myself to shell out for knitwear that is partly acrylic and a ridiculous price.

  3. Allison January 24, 2012 / 6:20 PM

    That looks great! I love the fit and the color, too!

  4. Roobeedoo January 18, 2012 / 1:38 PM

    Ooh yes – that’s lovely! Great textures 🙂

  5. gingermakes January 17, 2012 / 3:42 PM

    Really nice! This pattern really caught my eye, but it would take me flippin’ forever to finish a sweater this size! I need to make a hat this week– it’s suddenly cold and my hat from last year just doesn’t seem to fit quite right…

  6. ooobop! January 17, 2012 / 1:07 PM

    Absolutely beautiful. The cost of knitting always puts me off given that I would never waste my time on anything less than lovely wool, but your comparison says it all. And the end result is a gorgeous, snuggly, stylish layer that I would die for right now… brrrrr!

  7. Jane January 17, 2012 / 12:18 PM

    Just beautiful. It’s seeing cardigans like this that really make me wish I could knit. I’m not surprised it’s hardly been off your back since you finished it, it’s perfect. x

What do you think?

