Orange for 2012

Happy 2012! Hope you’re bearing up well in the new year.

Between you and me, I hate January. Magazines have already started printing ‘bikini body’ diet plans (URGH), the sales are totally rubbish, and everyone is poor, tired, and grumpy. On top of that I spotted some hot cross buns in Sainsbury’s yesterday. How can we cheer ourselves up?

Charlotte's Lock swatch

Luckily Pantone have given a helping hand by nominating a bright screaming orange as the official colour of 2012.

It seems quite appropriate as the poor year has already been laden down with dire predictions, and orange is a colour that seems to me to be teetering on the edge of hysteria. Not quite red, and not quite yellow, it’s like someone singing just off pitch in a glass-shattering way.

(I also think of orange as the colour of drunkenness for some reason).

‘Tangerine Tango’ is a bit too red for me though. I prefer my oranges to be a little more ‘Workman’s Vest’/’Easyjet Air Hangar’ (two of the shades rejected by Pantone this year, I believe)

Farrow and Ball have a fabulous bright orange called ‘Charlotte’s Lock’. I love it in this pale pink and beige combo.

Charlotte's Lock Farrow and Ball

And on my orange hunt, I also found a truly amazing array of tangerine coloured vintage dresses on Etsy. Feast your eyes on these.

This is the ultimate hippy wedding dress. Kate Moss should be ashamed.

Bohemian Dress by roguegirlvintage on Etsy
Bohemian Dress by roguegirlvintage on Etsy

This dress was clearly once owned by a 1930s nightclub singer, who used it for her big tropical number.

1930s dress from DearGolden on Etsy
1930s dress from DearGolden on Etsy

And this is the dress a lady alien wore to seduce Captain Kirk in the original Star Trek (watch out for sparks though – it’s 100% polyester).

Orange Blossom dress from BoonieBoutique on Etsy
Orange Blossom dress from BoonieBoutique on Etsy

I’ve never sewn anything in bright tangerine, but maybe this is my year to start.

Do you like orange? What colour cheers you up?

5 thoughts on “Orange for 2012

  1. Jane January 8, 2012 / 11:22 AM

    Red’s my favourite…. tangerine just make me think of Tango! Happy New Year. x

  2. prttynpnk January 6, 2012 / 12:36 AM

    I can’t get behind this. Its too Tupperware got me and clashes with my silly hair….but I did like the pink, beige and orange combo surprisingly……

  3. Chuck January 5, 2012 / 11:45 PM

    Agreed. Love orange, hate January. It sucks. If I have to read another detox article someone will die! X

  4. ooobop! January 5, 2012 / 11:26 PM

    I read about Pantone’s prediction in Style Mag recently and I have to say I’m quite excited! Im trying to ignore the Easy Jet and Workmen association and am feeling a deeper tangerine. I am the proud owner of such a colour cardigan and the number of comments I get when I wear it says to me that I need more of this orange behaviour. I’m thinking vintage wool Madmen style dress in deep tangerine… perhaps with a touch of that pink!

  5. mujerboricua January 5, 2012 / 10:36 PM

    I love canary yellow. Or vivid purples. Those two colors make me quite happy.

What do you think?

