Three birthday wishes

It was my birthday the weekend before last. Quite a significant one as well. And as everyone knows, there are three things a girl wants for her birthday:

1. New Shoes:

Check out my new Clarks desert boot wedges in dark red! They were a present from my lovely boyfriend. They are too nice to wear out of the house. I’ve constructed a small shoe shrine in my bedroom where I can light candles and admire them.

These are the best kind of present – something you really really want but would never buy for yourself (I already have one pair in beige, as you probably know)

New shoes!! OMG

2. A new dress:

It’s the law that you must wear a new dress on your birthday. Two days before mine I remembered this, and had to sew up a Vogue 8728 double quick. It’s made from some John Kaldor viscose/rayon fabric I had lying around.

It’s very fast to sew, but I didn’t exactly finish the insides to a high couture standard. Nobody is going to be exhibiting this dress in a museum in 100 years time, while tourists marvel at the amazing workmanship of ye olde home sewers.

I did manage to make it in a day and a half though (plus one night to cut out the pieces). I spent most of my actual birthday sewing lots of rows of gathers while listening to podcasts, but this is basically my ideal leisure activity so don’t feel too bad for me.

Vogue 8728
Sorry for the terrible photo quality. There's approx 30 mins of daylight at the moment.

This dress comes out long. I chopped off two inches and sewed a 4 inch hem to get this length, and I’m 5 ft 9 (and a half). I used light fusible interfacing on the midriff, an invisible zip, and shop-bought bias binding because I couldn’t face trying to cut strips of this slippery, fray-prone fabric. Bonus – I think I have enough fabric left to make myself another Sorbetto!

3. And the third thing every girl wants for her birthday?

No, it’s not diamonds, bath salts, or the overthrow of the patriarchy (nice as those are), it’s a brand new Brother 1034d overlocker, of course.

Look how well my new Brother is getting along with Bernie, my Activa 220.

Brother + Bernina = BFF

Brother are definitely conducting a viral marketing campaign via sewing blogs – first Peter, then Karen, and now Jane have bought this machine. Peer pressure is a terrible thing.

I was too scared to take it out of the box for a week. I don’t know what I was so worried about – threading it is easy! But only after I watched this video, and god bless the lady who uploaded it to Youtube. Someone should give her a medal. I’m still too intimidated to fiddle with all the strange dials on the side of it though.

The fourth significant thing I got for my birthday was a horrendous hangover, but we’ll gloss over that.

Now Christmas can begin! (You may not be aware, but Christmas doesn’t officially start until after my birthday has happened)

11 thoughts on “Three birthday wishes

  1. huggiedoeshomespun December 18, 2011 / 10:27 PM

    Happy birthday! ooo a serger, I fancy one but they intimidate me so will watch with interest how you get on! I fancy drapey jersey dresses but after making one on my machine (nightmare) I swore I’d never do another one without a serger

  2. Jane December 14, 2011 / 6:31 PM

    Happy belated birthday! Fab red desert boots, fab dress and fab overlocker! You’ve put me to shame though, it took me three months to thread mine up! x

  3. Sophia December 14, 2011 / 1:32 AM

    Oooh. Happy Birthday! I actually bought the same serger for my birthday a couple years ago 🙂 You’ll love it and be so happy at how nice the inside of your garments will look.

  4. Chuck December 13, 2011 / 12:29 PM

    Late happy birthday! Can’t believe you made that dress in a day and a half. Craving those shoes even more now – that colour is great. x

  5. Shivani December 12, 2011 / 9:34 PM

    Happy birthday! I too just got the same overlocker – thanks for the tip re the YouTube video! Lovely dress too!

  6. prttynpnk December 12, 2011 / 9:25 PM

    I like the idea of a shoe shrine- I also think that your dress is pretty enough to make it the uniform for the shoe Shrine altar girls! Happy late Birthday!

  7. didyoumakethat December 12, 2011 / 9:24 PM

    Yay! We have the same overlockers and similair models of sewing machine. Two pairs of those desert boots – I am dead jealous. I bought a pair of chocolate brown ones. They are brilliant. They really elongate my legs and are very comfie. Your dress is beautiful! And most important of all – happy birthday.

What do you think?

