Denim shirt dress – Simplicity 2246

This is the Lisette Traveler dress, Simplicity 2246.

Simplicity 2246

Sorry for my stern expression. I’ve just bought a magnetic Gorilla Pod tripod, which I wrapped around the light switch to take this photo. I was wondering if it was going to fall off and smash my camera mid-shot.

This dress does have a slight lady-prison-warden vibe to it though, maybe I was channeling that.

This is a lovely pattern, with lots of helpful touches like huge hem allowances on the sleeves, so that you can roll them up without any side-seam stitching showing. Two things I’d advise you to think about if you want to sew this:

  1. Pin the pockets to the dress to check positioning, BEFORE you sew and top-stitch them. I lengthened the body and then sewed on the top pockets without checking, and they were ridiculously high.
  2. You hem the dress very early on in the sewing process, so think about where you want it to end before you cut the pattern out – you’ll need to alter it then.

I’m not 100% happy with this version. My boyfriend compared it to a denim lab-coat, and the swayback adjustment I did has given the skirt a definite A-line shape, which I don’t like (but am too lazy to change).

The fabric is beautiful thick denim from Fabricland*. As well as running a truly unique website, Fabricland have a chain of shops in the south of England which reward some digging. When you walk in they appear to sell 100 different colours of glittery dancewear fabric and nothing else, but if you spend time rummaging there’s some really good quality fabrics, well-priced too. As well as this denim I got 2 metres of beautiful bright blue Italian wool, destined to be a pencil skirt one day.

*Don’t click on that link if you’re feeling at all nauseous today. 

I added belt-loops and used metal snaps instead of buttons. I’d just made the Beignet when I sewed this dress, and I couldn’t face making another ten buttonholes.

However it turns out that spending two hours hammering these little metal things into place is just as stressful as sewing buttonholes.

Firstly, sewing buttonholes doesn’t involve repeatedly hitting your thumb with a large hammer (unless you’re doing something very wrong). Secondly, if you live in a block of flats, sewing buttonholes won’t lead to your neighbours leaving a note on your door in the morning, asking ‘the DIY enthusiast’ to keep the noise down after 6pm at night. Just a little tip.

10 thoughts on “Denim shirt dress – Simplicity 2246

  1. Modern Country Style January 12, 2012 / 9:00 AM

    Okay, now I am COMPLETELY in awe of your dress-making skills! That dress is GORGEOUS!! I would totally wear something like that. It fits you so well. Grrr. I am jealous!!

    Sarahx

  2. Jane December 7, 2011 / 10:54 AM

    I like it a lot, so pleased you liked the pattern too. It looks great: denim plus a shirt dress is a fine combo. And please carry on channeling that lady prison officer look because it works really well.
    I’ve got a Prym tool thing that looks like a pair of pliers. It makes putting on snaps ridiculously easy and doesn’t involve the use of hammers. I think they’re about £10 to buy or if you’re desperate next time I’ll post mine to you to borrow! x

    • yesilikethat December 7, 2011 / 11:17 AM

      I did consider buying some but was desperate to get the dress finished – will get a pair for my next snap experiment. It does make the dress look more RTW I think. I can see more of this pattern in the future, I loved your flowery version! x

  3. prttynpnk December 6, 2011 / 5:48 PM

    I keep holding this pattern and thinking ‘next, next’ so al your fine tips will come in handy soon. Next time you do snaps, why not wake up extra early and do them- say, 4am or so? See if that makes the neighbors happier!

    • yesilikethat December 7, 2011 / 10:40 AM

      Good plan – everyone likes an early morning hammer wake-up call!

  4. didyoumakethat December 6, 2011 / 4:25 PM

    I dare you to scribble a note at the bottom of theirs saying, ‘Actually, I was making a dress.’ and shove it under their door.

    • yesilikethat December 6, 2011 / 5:25 PM

      If only I knew who had left the note! It was anonymous. Maybe I should put one through every door in the block. The weird thing is, when we actually WERE doing lots of DIY, there was not a word from the neighbours.

  5. didyoumakethat December 6, 2011 / 4:24 PM

    Ha, ha, ha! You’ve just made me laugh out loud. Polite notice: please stop sewing. Or hammering. I mean, what’s the difference? ‘DIY enthusiast…’ Oh, I can just hear the sarcasm dripping from their use of that phrase.

What do you think?

