Bust Craftacular

Last weekend I went to the Bust Craftacular in Bethnal Green. This is the 3rd or 4th year in a row I’ve been, and this time I got a little bit of crafty deja-vu.

Craftacular

Maybe you know what I mean. There are so many talented illustrators, designers and makers at the event, but the pool of inspiration they’re drawing from seems to be getting quite shallow.

Here are some things that are increasingly familiar:

  • Moustaches. The absolute worst offenders. Moustaches have GONE TOO FAR.
  • Tea cups
  • Foxes
  • Birds
  • Cats
  • Antlers/deer
  • Trees
  • Drawings of girls with big eyes
  • Bunting all over everything

I’m not saying this to discourage anyone who’s about to put the finishing touches to their drawing of an antler-wearing, mustachioed fox, drinking from a tea-cup, holding a string of bunting in its paw, and standing on an owl’s wing (which actually sounds v impressive).

All I’m saying is, it’s refreshing to see something different. Check out these amazing illustrators I discovered at the Craftacular for starters:

Sarah Lippett drew this brilliant comic which is all about Yuri Gagarin and has proper Russian words in:

Image taken from Sarah Lipett's shop, where you can buy this comic, and you totally should

Also, how good is this vase – it’s a representation of the Mercury 7 space capsule.

Image taken from Sarah Lipett's blog

Just to make me look totally stupid, she has some awesome bird drawings on her blog, and I also bought a v funny zine from her which is all about….er…. facial hair.

The other illustrator whose stuff I really liked was Nanae Kawahara (she has a website here)

She draws some frankly bonkers illustrations, mostly involving poodles. I bought these sweet cards, one of which appears to feature an array of Christmassy chairs. Her Etsy shop also has the best wedding card I’ve ever seen.

(I was also going to mention Cleo Ferin Mercury, who draws colourful 1960s screen icons all over lovely silk scarves – but Chuck did a much better round-up of her stuff, which you should go and read instead)

5 thoughts on “Bust Craftacular

  1. Chuck December 9, 2011 / 5:24 PM

    I missed you! Darn. Totally agree about moustaches btw – they are a thing of glory but they’ve been ruined by being plastered on absolutely everything. Think my experience of the Craft fair was slightly different since it was my first time but I do agree that a lot of the craft ‘genre’ has become bogged down in cliches. x

  2. Laura Davis December 6, 2011 / 1:42 PM

    You are soooo right!
    I missed the Craftacular this year, which I usually love but a friend who went told me it was pretty much exactly the same as last year which was disappointing. Lets get creative people!

  3. travelknitter December 6, 2011 / 7:04 AM

    You’ve absolutely hit the nail on the head about crafty deja vu. I’ve taken a break from craft fairs for a while, although am planning on popping in to the Selvedge fair on the weekend.

  4. Jane December 5, 2011 / 8:17 AM

    Oh oh oh, I’m THAT close to buying a Brigitte Bardot scarf from Cleo Ferin Mercury! Thanks for the round up, love the poodle cards. x

What do you think?

