Doughnut skirt

According to Wikipedia, a beignet is a sugar doughnut from New Orleans.

Beignet by Colette Patterns

But according to Colette Patterns, it’s a skirt with endless (twelve!!) buttonholes and a neat lining method.

It’s a bright tomato red cotton from Dalston Mill Fabrics

Well, this Beignet is the nearest I’ve been to a doughnut for a long time, as I’m nearing the end of a self-imposed month-long ban on sugar. Nary a cake, biscuit, pudding, or chocolate bar has crossed my lips for 4 long weeks. This is a very big deal. My perfect breakfast is a large mug of milky tea and two (or three) chocolate Hobnobs, but somehow I’ve been making do with Weetabix and boring old boiled eggs.

Warning: giving up sugar may lead to jazz hands

I don’t think it’s affected my sewing skills. It hasn’t made me much calmer when trying to sew 12 identical buttonholes. My machine is a Bernina Activa 220, and I love everything about it except for the lack of an automatic buttonholer. I should have sprung for the more expensive model but I was too cheap at the time. Oh well.

Buttons are from (where else) Ultimate Craft

I’m not 100% convinced this skirt is the most flattering on a pear shape. The fabric is beautiful, organic cotton from Ray Stitch in Islington, but I think a darker colour would be a tad less hip-emphasising.

I cut out an 8 at the top and graded to a 12 at the bottom, which was probably unnecessary. If I make another version I’ll sew an 8 all the way down.

Somehow I ran out of lining fabric, so I ended up having to cut two pockets in black polka-dot and two in red:

Two colour pocket on my Beignet

The instructions are very good, and I followed them to the letter except for the part about sewing 6 tiny belt loops and turning them inside-out by hand. That just wasn’t going to happen. There’s an easier way to do it – I’ll post about it separately.

It’s an unusual skirt shape, somewhere between a pencil, a straight skirt, and an A-line. I tapered in the sides a little bit and hemmed it at knee-length.

Beignet skirt

I give a resounding thumbs up for the Beignet, even though it did make me really, really want a doughnut.

22 thoughts on “Doughnut skirt

  1. travelknitter November 24, 2011 / 10:47 PM

    That skirt looks amazing! I’m very impressed. I wish I could sew, but my machine scares me 🙂

  2. Tilly November 22, 2011 / 9:23 PM

    Oh my! This is gorgeous! Such fabulous fabric (gotta love Ray Stitch) and those buttons! Lovely lovely Beignet.

  3. Jane November 10, 2011 / 6:44 PM

    Just seen the other comments about the shoes and wanted to let you know I bought a pair after your previous post about them. I absolutely LOVE them – it’s like wearing slippers every day. Mine are black but I’m eyeing up the bluey/grey ones too (just so I can put on my blue suede shoes really). Thanks for the tip off. x

    • yesilikethat November 10, 2011 / 8:47 PM

      Hooray! We should start a shoe club. They are the most comfy shoes in the world.

  4. Roobeedoo November 10, 2011 / 11:56 AM

    Very neat! Interesting that you tapered the shape: whatever you did, it worked!
    And I am with the others on the shoes – you say they come in red and navy too?!

    • yesilikethat November 10, 2011 / 8:47 PM

      Yes, and dark brown too! And highly expensive ‘limited edition’ white lace which is beautiful but perhaps a tad impractical.

  5. Chuck November 9, 2011 / 7:00 PM

    I really want a doughnut now too! I think this looks great, particularly with the leopard print. So many buttonholes though! Hard work.

  6. shivani November 7, 2011 / 12:37 PM

    this is really lovely!! I’m a bit on the pear-shaped side, but I think your version looks fab!

    Also, I totally love your shoes! I’ve been flirting with them for a while, but I’m now convinced I must have some for myself.

    and well done re the sugar ban! I’m not brave enough to go completely cold turkey like that, but I have cut out sugar in my tea/coffee and no more biscuits.

    (having pc problems, so might have double posted!)

  7. didyoumakethat November 6, 2011 / 7:13 PM

    I love it on you! You don’t need to worry if it’s flattering or not at all. The pocket linings are inspired. Yeah, the belt hoops are a nightmare as are the buttonholes. I feel sick every single time I do them. I love the fabric – really must stop by Ray Stitch. Are those Clarks shoes? I’ve been drooling over those…

    • yesilikethat November 6, 2011 / 9:55 PM

      Yep they’re Clarks Originals. Oh god I love them so much. Really really want a pair in either dark blue or red but sadly bank balance isn’t co-operating at the moment. Get some so I can live vicariously through you!

  8. Jane November 6, 2011 / 7:10 PM

    Lovely, lovely Beignet. I really like the lighter coloured cotton and I LOVE the red lining. The skirt looks extremely flattering on you AND you get added jazz hands so it’s win, win.
    I also cheated with the belt loops – I think I did the same as you looking at the photos! I bet you’ll wear it a lot. x

    • yesilikethat November 6, 2011 / 9:53 PM

      Thank you! The red lining is exceedingly cheerful, it makes me happy. x

  9. ooobop! November 6, 2011 / 6:25 PM

    Oh thats a really great skirt. I love how the lining is incorporated and especially that it is red! I’m still a bit too tight to buy Collette Patterns but I am indeed tempted! Well done on the elimination of sugar. I have tried and failed to do that… after about 1 hour of declaration! I might try again. Did you lose weight as a result? I think I’ve convinced myself that sugar does nothing to add weight!

    • yesilikethat November 6, 2011 / 9:52 PM

      Don’t think I have lost weight – we don’t have any scales, but none of my clothes seem looser. I have been replacing sugar with cheese, nuts, and more cheese though! Colette are pricey but the instructions are really good, was v impressed.

  10. mujerboricua November 6, 2011 / 6:12 PM

    I love your Beignet. That organic light blue cotton is one of my favorites (I work part-time in the shop) and I am always tempted to buy it. One day.

    And well done on going sugar-free. I’ve done it a few times and it helps my moods so much. But man, I love sweets. It’s so hard for me to keep away.

    • yesilikethat November 6, 2011 / 10:17 PM

      Man, it’s definitely tough. I’m proud of myself for lasting this long with minimal slip-ups (mostly involving sugary booze, I have to say).

What do you think?

