Rhubarb and custard hat

Vega hat in pink and beige

This is the Vega hat by Brooklyn Tweed. It’s really nicely written – I love the way the decreases create a a star on top.

It’s knitted from two different Rowan yarns and they’re both very satisfyingly woolly.

I’m on a mission to use up my frankly ridiculous stash of odd balls of wool, so hats are the order of the day. I choose these colours more or less at random, but they remind me of those rhubarb and custard sweets you get in big plastic jars in newsagents.

(I knitted it for a friend’s birthday and I promise it looked better on her than on my alien model head.)

It’s a pattern from the ever-expanding Brooklyn Tweed empire of knitwear, which is producing some of the best new knitting patterns I’ve seen for ages. Especially the FALL 2011 ones. I really hate to use the phrase ‘on trend’, but you know what I mean. There is knitwear everywhere at the moment and the BT patterns have just the right amount of texture.

I must knit this hat!

The BT Shelter yarn looks yummy as well.The shade names crack me up – they’ve totally nailed that faded, homespun hipster aesthetic. ‘Hayloft’, ‘Button Jar’, ‘Faded Quilt’, ‘Homemade Jam’, ‘Old Man’s Beard’*. The colours look gorgeous and tweedy though.
*I may have made this one up

Sorry for the radio silence around here over the last week. Looking for a job and various family crises have eaten up my time, but the good news is I’ve found some temporary work until Christmas. I have TONS of stuff to post about though, so I’ll soon be cluttering up your Google Reader account as usual.

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb and custard hat

  1. ooobop! October 24, 2011 / 9:31 AM

    I love your Rhubarb and Custard hat! The star is so cute. It’s a while since I knitted anything and even back then I’m not sure I’d have had the patience for anything quite so intricate! I agree the cable knit one is great too. Do it!! And congratulations on your temp work. I’m a freelance designer so I completely understand the panic when it dries up. Hopefully you can relax a bit now! 🙂

    • yesilikethat October 24, 2011 / 5:11 PM

      Thanks, I do feel a bit less panicky! This hat was easier than you’d think, I’m not v good at fair isle but can just about manage two colours at once. x

  2. Jane October 24, 2011 / 7:39 AM

    Ooh it’s lovely, the star in the middle is my favourite bit. Hand knitted hats are ace, if I didn’t look so ridiculous in them I’d be wearing them every day. Good news about the temp work. x

    • yesilikethat October 24, 2011 / 5:12 PM

      I bet you look nice in hats! This slightly slouchy style is my favourite, in between a beret and a big old tam. x

What do you think?

