Corduroy for Autumn

Well. Not much to say about this. It’s a boring, grey, corduroy skirt (Simplicity 2451).

 

Corduroy skirtThanks to my boyfriend for taking this photo to replace the previous and massively unflattering one

I would never buy a skirt on the high street because I always think ‘Come on, I could sew that for half the price’. But sewing skirts is just so boring. It’s because skirt-weight fabrics look so dull and worthy in the fabric shop, next to all the exciting printed cottons and silks. Corduroy and wool are the dark horses of the sewing world.

It’s a great pattern- I’ve made it twice before in stretch denim. The only change I made this time was to lengthen the back darts.

In keeping with my new philosophy of making things to last, rather than clothes that start to unravel if you give them a harsh look, I faux-overlocked all the seams on my Bernina. I also topstitched in a yellow/orange colour (which is a bit lost in the nap of the fabric) and added purple bias binding to finish the facing.

Topstitching thread hates me, but I discovered that actually putting in a new, heavy-duty needle helps a lot. I’m so bad at changing my needle regularly! I even keep the old needles after I’ve changed them, in case I have a needle-based emergency and Ultimate Craft is shut. Is that really awful? I know it’s a bit of a sewing crime.

Simplicity 2451

This photo shows the texture of the corduroy much better, it’s was a cheap buy on Goldhawk Road about 3 years ago. I’m really starting to scrape the bottom of my fabric stash, what with being at home all day. I do have some insane orange/yellow/pink batik fabric that is somewhat taxing my powers of garment visualisation, I think that might be my next challenge.

So there you go, boring skirt no. 1 in a series of many (hopefully)! I’m sure you are on tenterhooks with skirt excitement.

10 thoughts on “Corduroy for Autumn

  1. shivani November 7, 2011 / 12:39 PM

    lovely! I made a version recently which was a big fail (too big). nothing wrong with a boring grey skirt – it means jazzy tights and loud Ts, no?

  2. Jane October 12, 2011 / 2:55 PM

    There’s nothing wrong with a plain grey skirt, especially in corduroy! It will go with everything. I think it’s lovely – I really like the purple binding on the facing. x

    • yesilikethat October 12, 2011 / 4:09 PM

      The purple binding was a bit of a happy accident (found it in my sewing box) but I like it with the grey, it will cheer me up when putting this skirt on in the morning anyway.

  3. prttynpnk October 12, 2011 / 1:54 PM

    I love corduroy- it can never be boring- very pretty!

    • yesilikethat October 12, 2011 / 4:09 PM

      Thank you! You can’t beat corduroy for autumn.

  4. Tamsin October 12, 2011 / 12:38 PM

    Looks great! I am desparate to get some corduroy – it is every where in RTW stuff but not so much in fabric shops/online.

    • yesilikethat October 12, 2011 / 2:35 PM

      I know the feeling – it seems easy to buy babycord but not the chunkier stuff. Croft Mill fabrics sometimes have nice corduroy in their online shop.

  5. ooobop! October 12, 2011 / 12:19 PM

    Not boring at all! It’s such a lovely shape. I like the way the waistband dips at the front. And the corduroy looks really cosy! I love the use of bias trim on the inside facing and I bet its a pleasure to wear!

    • yesilikethat October 12, 2011 / 4:08 PM

      Thanks! It is super comfortable it has to be said.

What do you think?

