Things I like in October

Things I want to buy, October 2011

Cream lace wedge shoes, £200
Disc jewelry, £39
John Lewis Flore Chair Wood £89
Bubble knit jumper, €49
La Petite Congolaise Cushion, £75 

I think what I like about making Polyvore sets is that it greatly reduces my impulse to go shopping.  Things look so pretty together in 2D, floating on a lovely white background, actually seeing them in reality would be a disappointment.

Anyway here are some things you should buy, or just look at and admire:

1. Cream lace wedge shoes from Clarks. I have these in beige suede and they are my favourite shoes of all time, and the only comfortable wedges I have ever found (even though everyone says that wedges are so easy to walk in. It’s all lies!). £200 for these is a ridiculous price, even if they are covered in lace and a limited edition, but I am coveting the dark blue and dark red suede versions.

2. Disc necklace from Toast. Toast are the supreme purveyor of the ‘trendy art teacher’ look – smocks, wooden jewellery, knitted tunics, and tweed. I don’t love their summer stuff but every autumn when they send me the catalogue I spend ages reading it and wishing that I was one of the moody-looking models slouching around European castles in merino knitwear (I think they’ve gone a bit too ‘feral youth’ with the catalogue cover this autumn though – see below.)

Toast catalogue cover Autumn 2011

3. John Lewis Flore Chair Wood  £89. I bought a lovely Ercol dining table off Ebay for our flat earlier this year, but to go with it we have a folding chair from IKEA and a rickety paint-stained seat we ‘borrowed’ from our old housemates (who found it in the basement). These school chairs would do nicely as a replacement.

4. Bubble knit jumper from COS, €49. My heart skipped a beat when I found out that COS have finally opened an online shop. The materials they use are incredible – look at this padded scuba skirt. They have great knitwear as well, and I would like this bright yellow bubbly jumper to make me happy throughout the winter.

5. I found La Petite Congolaise through an interior design blog. Her cushions are pretty expensive, but she does have a massive selection of African prints to choose from. If you sew these are super easy to replicate – you can buy African wax-print fabric all over London, or online. I’d love to make a wax-print cushion with denim piping (would probably make it an envelope back though, after my last traumatic experience making piped, zipped cushions).

Have you been doing any internet window shopping lately?

2 thoughts on “Things I like in October

  1. Jane October 5, 2011 / 4:42 PM

    I’ve had my eye on the wedge desert boots for a while but couldn’t decide between black and blue. You’ve tipped me over the edge with the comfort angle though (she says, sounding like an old codger) – I’m going to buy a pair TOMORROW! x

    • yesilikethat October 5, 2011 / 5:03 PM

      Hooray! They are amazing. If you get the blue pair you can sing ‘blue suede shoes’ as you walk around, but the black pair are super nice as well. Can’t wait to see them with your new trousers!

What do you think?

