Fried food and mountain roads

I’m back! Did you miss me? (tumbleweeds…).

I had the BEST holiday. I totally failed at updating this blog, or even documenting outfits for the Self-Stitched-September Flickr group, but I was too busy trying out different American snacks, cruising mountain roads while giving unwanted driving tips to my boyfriend, and taking 700 photos (which seem to be mainly of fried food and the camouflage aisle at Walmart).

Coming home was not so fun. I have an intense case of post-holiday blues and unemployment woes. The charity I work for is shutting down due to a lack of funding, so this time next week I’ll be back knocking on the door of Dalston Jobcentre.

At least I’ll have lots of time for sewing. Last summer I was unemployed and so stressed that I spent the whole time chewing my nails, googling unlikely jobs, and eating whole packets of chocolate digestives. This time I plan on being extremely zen about the whole thing and using it as a chance to sew and get stuff done around the house (this may or not actually happen).

Anyway here are some photos of our holiday, which has left me considerably poorer, fatter and more sunburnt. It was definitely worth it though.

Blue Ridge Mountains
Blue Ridge Mountains
Beach at the Outer Banks
Beach at the Outer Banks
Arnold Valley on the Blue Ridge Parkway
Arnold Valley on the Blue Ridge Parkway
Chicken pot pie
Chicken pot pie
Thomas Jefferson's house, Monticello
Thomas Jefferson's house, Monticello
Flower in the garden at Monticello
Flower in the garden at Monticello
Hot dog at the Blue Mountain Brewery
Hot dog at the Blue Mountain Brewery
A quilt in a reconstructed pioneer house on the Blue Ridge Parkway
A quilt in a reconstructed pioneer house on the Blue Ridge Parkway
A table set up for my friend's wedding
A table set up for my friend's wedding
My crescent skirt in Washington DC
My Crescent Skirt tours Washington DC
Fried chicken and home-made baked beans
Fried chicken and home-made baked beans
Trees
Trees at Otter Creek on the Blue Ridge Parkway
I managed to finish the dress I was making for the wedding but I got no photos on the day due to unforeseen circumstances involving a huge storm, a rapidly sinking wedding marquee, and a tumble-dryer, which meant that the dress wasn’t exactly at it’s radiant best. I’m going to post about it as soon as I get some decent pictures. Right now though I have to go and read the 800 blog posts that have built up in Google Reader. I may be some time.
5 thoughts on “Fried food and mountain roads

  1. Sophia September 29, 2011 / 10:41 AM

    Thanks for the beautiful pictures of Virginia, DC, and North Carolina. I’ve been to most of the locations of your shots. It’s nice to hear you had a good time. The Wal Mart and fried food thing made me laugh, though. That’s definitely an issue of the US South. On your next trip here, try the North, it’s a little healthier 🙂

    • yesilikethat September 29, 2011 / 11:02 AM

      Thanks Sophia – hope it didn’t come across as insulting, I had the most amazing time on our holiday! I’d love to visit the North, definitely want to go on another USA road trip (once we’ve saved up enough again… could be a few years!). One thing I noticed was how polite and friendly people were, especially at hotels, restaurants, shops etc. Maybe that’s just coming from London though, it’s not the friendliest city in the world.

  2. Geri September 27, 2011 / 6:37 PM

    The best holidays always lead the worst post-holiday blues. It’s a causal relationship….but it’s still worth having the holidays! And I’ll be feeling the same thing, when I’m unemployed in 2012 (post holiday/emergency visa expedition back to New Zealand). That’s why we have biscuits & bad daytime TV and yes, sewing machines!
    P.S Your photo’s are amazing. And I’m very jealous of the delicious looking fried foods!

    • yesilikethat September 27, 2011 / 9:55 PM

      So true! Although daytime TV has been eclipsed by YouTube for me, I can spend many hours watching clips from old musicals on there (and eating biscuits)… The fried foods were soooo good but need to go on an all-vegetable diet now. Another week on holiday and I’d be both bankrupt and unable to fit in a single plane seat!

What do you think?

