Holiday time!

Image source: Channel 4 website, courtesy of serial capsule wardrobe abuser Gok Wan

I’m off on holiday tomorrow! Hooray! For a whole two weeks: 2 nights in Washington DC, 4 days driving around Virginia and North Carolina, then a week in a beach house on the Outer Banks where my friend is getting married. I’m more excited than I thought was humanly possible. I REALLY need a holiday.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of the holiday capsule wardrobe, and I’ve decided it’s an evil concept devised by fashion magazines to make us all feel bad. It comes in two versions:

  • The upmarket Vogue/Elle type. All you need is 10 bikinis, one wildly expensive designer dress for dinners out, some ‘funky accessories’, and cashmere socks* to wear on the plane.
  • The cheap and cheerful Woman’s Weekly/Good Housekeeping version, where you take a sarong, a swimming costume, and a big scarf, and combine them into a myriad of complicated outfits.

Am I right or has anyone actually mastered the concept of the capsule wardrobe on holiday? Maybe you have to have a very specific personality type not to wildly overpack. I am hopeless at thinking of possible outfits beforehand, I just frantically shove everything I own into a huge bag and then discover that nothing goes together and I can’t actually carry it (but aha, this time we’re renting a car! Over-packing here I come.)

So I won’t be updating this blog much for the next two weeks. I’m going to try and keep up with the Self-Stitched September group, probably with some dubious quality phone photos. And if you have any tips on things to do while we’re away, let me know! I have a Virginia guidebook but it’s a little bit useless.

*Why do people always recommend this? It must be a first-class thing. If you’re travelling with the rest of the plebs you need ear-plugs, a trashy magazine, and one of those mini bottles of lukewarm white wine just after take-off.

3 thoughts on “Holiday time!

  1. Chuck September 17, 2011 / 5:38 PM

    Hahaha. So true. I’ve never mastered the capsule wardrobe either. I actually do think that cashmere socks are bliss (I got some for Christmas a few years ago) but how would you get them on in cattle class?? Not enough room. Wine, mags and ear-plugs instead. Have a great holiday.

  2. didyoumakethat September 12, 2011 / 12:07 PM

    Love this post! All so utterly true. Have a fabulous time – sounds like you’ve earned it.

    • yesilikethat September 12, 2011 / 12:16 PM

      Thanks Karen! The weather is looking good over there, will be nice to get some sunshine, it is much needed after a London summer.

What do you think?

