Friday crafty, arty and sewing links

Here’s some interesting new things I’ve found on the internet this week (actually most of them are from last week, as that’s when I intended to publish this before forgetting all about it, so it’s basically some lazy, stale and re-heated content. Sorry about that.)

Vintage 1950s / 60s dress pattern - Vogue Special Design 4259 - Bust 34
Image source: glassoffashion

  • Nice to see an Etsy pattern seller based in the UK. I was eyeing up the pattern above in her shop for a while and I’m SO glad that somebody else bought it, honest. I know the cowl neck would never sit right and that I’d be fiddling with the back wrap all the time, and I can’t afford it anyway, and really I know it would be happier with someone else, someone far better at sewing that I could ever be (*breaks down in sobs*)

Hope you all have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Friday crafty, arty and sewing links

  1. mujerboricua September 11, 2011 / 9:03 PM

    The Power of Making was awesome. I went today and really enjoyed it. Lots of creative makes presented well.

  2. Michelle Trusttum September 11, 2011 / 2:23 PM

    Rather taken with the Marimekko print Chuck Taylors, but not at 84 pounds plus sundry shipping etc. Besides, they are really more my eldest daughter than me.

    Love the Morse code cross-stitch. Great spirit.

    And thanks for the V&A Block Craft link – I am inspired to rethink our storage issues. Our double garage is full of blocks, patterns, and rolls of fabric (not one car); remnants from my husband’s eponymous label of years ago.

    That’s how we met – in his work-room – I was doing the: this fabric, that style and these buttons thing. It didn’t result in a date. That came some years later at a mutual friend’s birthday, laughing over what a pain I was!

    • yesilikethat September 12, 2011 / 10:39 AM

      Sorry Michelle your comment went into my spam for some reason! What a great story about how you met your husband. Sewing definitely requires some serious storage space, even for just an amateur, can’t imagine how much room it must take up if you do it professionally!

      The Chuck Taylors are definitely too expensive. I really liked the Nike Liberty collaboration earlier this year but that was also way too pricey. I just don’t wear trainers enough to justify it.

  3. Jane September 10, 2011 / 8:10 AM

    Great links, especially Nile Rodgers in roller skates and the Guardian article about the stitching father and son. Thanks! x

  4. disneyrollergirl September 9, 2011 / 4:44 PM

    Hey, thank you for linking. I went to The Power of Making, you must go. SO interesting and some good little films on view as well 🙂

What do you think?

