Crescent Skirt No. 1

My first Crescent skirt! I say first, because there’s definitely more to come. I LOVE this pattern from Sewaholic.

Crescent Skirt in blue cotton voile

It’s so fun to put together, and I learned a lot from following Tasia’s extremely comprehensive Sew-a-long, including an amazing zip insertion method which I will now use for everything I sew, forever. I am an expert at the process, having carefully sewed in the zip completely the wrong way round the first time. I didn’t notice until I was showing the beautiful ‘finished’ product to my boyfriend and had a sudden flash of realisation – the zipper pull belongs on the outside of the skirt. Oops. At least ripping it out and re-sewing has put it firmly in my head.

Crescent skirt close-up

It’s made from a thin poly/cotton blend which is really a shirt weight, so I lined it with a white cotton poplin. You add a lot of structure to the skirt when sewing (interfacing, topstitching and twill tape) which combined with the lining, makes it feel lightweight but not flimsy. The waistband looks a bit wrinkly in this photo, but I had worn it all day, and think I just need to give it a bit of a press.

I top-stitched the waistband seams and the hem (which I made nearly 4 inches) with a light grey topstitching thread. It looks strangely yellow in this photo but it’s much more silvery in real life.

I pulled a super-human effort to get this skirt finished last weekend before visitors came to stay in my sewing room (some refer to it as our spare room). I really tried to finish everything off nicely, inspired by the sew-along: french seams, twill tape, making the gathers super-even, the lot.  I’m so proud of it and glad I didn’t take any short-cuts. I cut out the size 10 and I didn’t have to do any alterations, it fits perfectly, hooray.

As the sun decided to shine on London today I put it on to go fabric shopping with my sister. It’s also the second day of Self-Stitched-September! Yesterday I totally forgot it was September already, but luckily I was wearing my African print Sorbetto. Not sure if I’m going to make it to the end of the month but will give it a damn good try.

I’m going on holiday in about a week, so hopefully Virginia and North Carolina will be sunny enough for me to give this skirt a little bit of an airing before it gets put away for the winter (but I’m definitely making a winter version before then!).

5 thoughts on “Crescent Skirt No. 1

  1. yesilikethat September 5, 2011 / 9:09 AM

    Thanks! It’s such a great pattern. Looking forward to seeing what Tasia comes up with next, this one was so nice to sew. Plus anything with pockets in gets my vote.

  2. Suzie September 5, 2011 / 8:00 AM

    Oh I love this skirt – the colour is lovely. I love the Crescent skirt pattern too – it’s just so comfy and the pockets are fab!

  3. Barbara Lamar September 4, 2011 / 9:47 PM

    Lovely skirt. The entire outfit looks good. I like the combination of colors.

What do you think?

