Miu Miu and the 1940s

I bought the September issue of Vogue this week, just so I’d have something to read on the train.  I buy less and less fashion mags these days. Feel a bit reluctant to fork over a fiver for a publication that is 90 per cent ads, especially when most of the ads are dull as dishwater. The only one that really stood out to me was this one, Hailee Steinfeld looking like Lauren Bacall in Miu Miu.

I know there’s been some controversy over whether she’s too young to model for the label (she’s only 14), and it does seem absurd considering how much the clothes cost, but I just love this photo. The look on her face is perfect, and the blouse, hair-do, and eyebrows make her the spitting image of a mini-Lauren.

Hailee Steinfeld in Miu Miu

It also totally reminds me of the passage in By Myself  (best celebrity autobiography OF ALL TIME) where Bacall describes her wedding in a little house out in the country – she makes an entrance down a flight of stairs and is shaking so much when she sees Bogart she can hardly speak. She was only 20 when she got married, just 6 years older than Hailee.

Lauren Bacall wearing blouses

Here’s the outfit Hailee’s wearing, as seen on the catwalk. The Miu Miu AW 2011 collection is amazing, it’s totally 1940s. I love this blouse with huge sleeves, a high neck and a yoke.

Lots of similar patterns on Etsy:

40s Butterick 4659 Blouse with Jabot or Collar, Yoke and Pleat, Size 16 Bust 34I love version C, using stripes in both directions

40s Butterick 3976 Blouse with Smart Yoke High Neckline Puff Sleeves Size 16 Bust 34Perfect Bacall-esque waves on this pattern illustration.

Vintage 40s Blouse Pattern Vogue 5418 Size 16 Bust 34This one’s a bit more Rosalind Russell in His Girl Friday

I can’t see the huge sleeves on these coming back into high-street stores – they require a lot of fabric so are more expensive to produce than short sleeved versions. They do look great tucked into the pencil skirts which everyone’s supposed to be wearing this winter (again according to Vogue).

I have a length of original 40s/50s crepe I bought on a stall in Spitalfields market which I want to use to make a shirt dress a bit like these blouses. Then I just need to work out how to roll my hair like the Miu Miu models…

What do you think?

