Skip to content

Triple sewing news excitement

April 2, 2014

I logged into WordPress for the first time in ages yesterday, and couldn’t believe that I haven’t blogged for nearly a month. A whole month!

I haven’t had twins, become the new head of the UN, been working shifts on oil rigs or taken up dry-stone walling. So I’m not entirely sure where the time has gone.

I don’t even know if anyone is still reading this blog apart from my Mum (hi Mum.)

Anyway, whether I’m just talking into the void or not, I’m back now and there’s lots of exciting sewing related news to talk about. So hold on to your hats:

 

By Hand London Kickstarter project

Screen_Shot_2014-03-13_at_17.05.35

You must have already heard that the multi-talented women from By Hand London are setting up their own fabric printing business. They have a Kickstarter set up here, and they’re so close to their target with just 9 days left. So go and pledge now!

 

Minerva Crafts Meetup

I am attending the Minerva Crafts Meet-Up

Another amazing craft business to shout about. The wonderful Vicki from Minerva is organising a meet-up in sunny Darwen on the 14th June (no, not that Darwin, it’s actually in Lancashire).

I’ll definitely be there rocking a new homemade dress, I hope you can come along.

 

Me-Made-May 2014

MMM14logolarge

After last year’s triumphant Me Made May, I’m so in for this year.

Although I wear homemade clothing nearly every day, MMM always helps me to come up with new outfits, encourages me to fill gaps in my home-sewn wardrobe, and gives me tons and tons of inspiration. My favourite part is checking the Flickr group and seeing what everyone else is wearing and making.

One more thing…

SPRING IS HERE!

And it’s my favourite time of year. I remember being freezing nearly every day of last May so I’m loving the sunshine.

springcollage

Have you started your spring sewing yet?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2014 12:26 PM

    Woooo see you in June!
    I’m definitely sewing for spring – short skirts, no sleeves and florals abound!

  2. April 10, 2014 12:07 AM

    Thanks for asking! I haven’t made it yet as I’m having difficulty deciding on the fabric. I have some chambray that I was considering but now I’m not sure. I also need to do a bodice muslin. Spring is showing it’s head finally, however, Yay!

    • April 10, 2014 12:08 AM

      Good grief…”its head”… Also, I was trying to respond to your question below. :)

  3. April 7, 2014 1:45 PM

    Reading here in Aus too, where the leaves are turning gold and bronze.

  4. April 7, 2014 7:46 AM

    Am still reading, am a mum but unless you are Helen or Peter I am not your mum! Loving your blog and I understand about not posting often, I only post on my blog about once a month (should do better, I know)! Later I am going to support the By Hand London project, but I am in a mad hurry now. Keep posting!

  5. April 5, 2014 10:55 AM

    Yep, still reading :-) About to check out Me Made May…

  6. April 4, 2014 2:55 PM

    Wow, look at those beautiful blooms! We’re having a cold, rainy day here, so I’m crossing my fingers that the spring blossoms come soon! There certainly is a lot of fun and excitement in the sewing world all at once!

  7. Kate Dundas permalink
    April 3, 2014 10:50 PM

    Reading all the way from Perth, Australia! Love your blog.

  8. April 3, 2014 11:09 AM

    Already got my pledge in for the BH Kickstarter! Like you I just loved checking out the flickr during MMM last year, I’m looking forward to taking part this year too.

  9. April 3, 2014 10:36 AM

    Yup, here’s another one of us still reading x

  10. April 3, 2014 6:37 AM

    I went to visit a friend in Darwen in February, we drove past Minerva crafts and I confused all three other people in the car by freaking out a little bit over it. Oops. Will see if I can make it :-) And I’m not trusting the spring weather just yet – I’m waiting for the cold to come back and go, ‘ha! gotcha!’… as soon as I pack up the bit wooly jumpers.

    • April 7, 2014 8:51 PM

      Yes, as I type it is raining like mad outside :( Ah well, hopefully the nice weather will come back soon.

  11. April 3, 2014 6:17 AM

    Still reading :)

  12. April 3, 2014 5:04 AM

    Hi! I’m reading, and I don’t think I’m your mum. ;) I finally clicked through to the Me Made May post from here and actually read it and I think I’ll join in! I’d assumed it was only suitable if you already have loads of own-made clothes, but even as a newbie I can follow along. I’ll have to think about my pledge.

    • April 7, 2014 8:51 PM

      No it’s definitely great for everyone! You can choose whatever pledge you’d like. Really hope you play along :)

  13. April 3, 2014 2:25 AM

    Well, I like your blog. Your last post inspired me to buy the Flora dress pattern! Nice blossoms on the trees. We still have snow. :(

    • April 7, 2014 8:52 PM

      How are you getting on with the Flora? I hope your weather improves soon.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 999 other followers

