Skip to content

Two Moss skirts (and bonus Hemlock)

February 10, 2014

I tried really hard to come up with a moss related pun for the title of this post, but sadly the brain cells are running dry. It is Sunday night after all.

I made my first denim Moss skirt in Nov 2012. It’s done valiant service but it’s nearly ready for the great charity shop in the sky. Here are a couple of replacements I sewed just before Christmas.

The first one is made from blue wool left over from this pencil skirt:

blue moss 2

The wool is a tiny bit too lightweight for this pattern, but it’s nice and warm. The top is another Grainline special, the free Hemlock tee. This is an amazingly fast pattern to sew, even for a slowcoach like me.

I added a small useless pocket as per usual. If you can add a tiny useless pocket, you should add a tiny useless pocket, that’s my motto in life.

blue moss 1

Here’s the second Moss, which is also made from leftover fabric, this time from my spotty trousers. I only just barely managed to squeeze the pattern pieces out of the remnant I had left.

spotty moss 2

I love this dotty skirt. I’ve been wearing it all the time. Winter is the only time I wear mini skirts, but luckily there’s no shortage of winter weather around here at the moment. As long as it’s cold enough to wear fleece lined tights, I’ll be wearing short skirts (second life motto there for you).

I’ve found it quite hard to adjust the Moss pattern to suit my shape, and I’ve hacked it around so much I’m going to have to print out another version, which is one advantage to pdf patterns. I think the secret for me is stretch fabric – probably why this dotty one is my fave.

I had the perfect big white button in my stash for the waistband:

spotty moss 1

Get your own Moss skirt pattern here. I can’t wait to see what Jen from Grainline comes up with next (and I still need to make an Archer shirt…)

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2014 9:10 AM

    Love that blue skirt, the colour is fresh. I keep meaning to buy the Moss skirt to make up, but quite a few people have had fit issues, and lord knows I’m lazy. One day.

  2. February 11, 2014 10:48 PM

    Haha we have the same motto for wearing mini skirts! (I discovered a few years ago I could double up on tights and NEVER BE COLD AGAIN. Changed my life) Love them, especially the spotty :)

  3. February 11, 2014 9:08 PM

    I love a good skirt and this is perfect! Must make (although bit worried it was difficult to fit?! Suit a short size 8?) and fleece lined tights-also something I need in my life!!!

  4. February 11, 2014 7:49 PM

    love these! Do you have any problems with the waistband? Mine seems to short.

    • February 17, 2014 2:59 PM

      Hello, the waistband did seem a bit short although I assumed it was from me messing about with the pattern, interesting that you found the same thing…

  5. February 11, 2014 8:38 AM

    I love your mini moss skirts. I have to put them in my sewing queue now. The spots are my fav.

  6. February 10, 2014 9:58 PM

    I love this style on you. Both versions are adorable!

  7. February 10, 2014 9:31 PM

    Lovely skirts and THOSE TRAINERS, wow.

    • February 10, 2014 10:11 PM

      I know, they are my faves! Worried about wearing them out or I would probably have them on my feet every day.

  8. February 10, 2014 7:34 PM

    Love your Moss skirts so much, especially the super cute dotty version!

  9. February 10, 2014 7:17 PM

    Ohhhh – those skirts are so cute ! The blue is such a perfect basic, and those dots are to die for. They are perfect! Nice work!

  10. February 10, 2014 7:13 PM

    Dots all the way! And thanks for the free pattern link – will have to try it whenever I dust off my machine :)

  11. February 10, 2014 5:23 PM

    Both skirts turned out great! I especially love the one with the dots! One can never buy enough polkadot fabric – that’s my motto :)

  12. February 10, 2014 4:59 PM

    The spotty one is so perfect! Have you seen the next Grainline pattern is a duffel coat with hood? Looks amazing.
    P.S. Your trainers are cool.

    • February 10, 2014 10:10 PM

      They were an Xmas present from Alex and my favourite thing in the world ever! A duffel coat would be amazing, might get around to making one for winter 2016 or something…

  13. February 10, 2014 3:43 PM

    Dots all the way! Both are super cute but I love the dots!

  14. February 10, 2014 3:34 PM

    Gah! I LOVE this! Spots look gorgeous and good idea to go with a stretch fabric. My first Moss skirt is now too big for me and I’m far too lazy to alter it… some day.

    • February 10, 2014 10:10 PM

      Thanks! I don’t think it’s a pattern designed for the pear-shaped but stretch fabric definitely helped with that.

  15. February 10, 2014 3:25 PM

    The polka dot version is wonderful! I love Jen’s patterns too, they’re so wearable and effortless.

  16. February 10, 2014 2:43 PM

    I can’t think of a title either, but they are both plants/weeds, moss and hemlock. One a groundcover and another a poison…

  17. February 10, 2014 2:15 PM

    These are really lovely. I need to get me some mini skirt action happen.

  18. February 10, 2014 1:54 PM

    These are both great! Like you I only wear short skirts in the winter with tights so I doubt I’ll be making the Moss up this year but would like to have a go in time for next Autumn. I particularly love your polka dot one!

  19. February 10, 2014 1:28 PM

    love the dotty one! I have yet to make any of the Grainline patterns although I like the look of all of them.

  20. February 10, 2014 1:26 PM

    Fabulous! And tights make everything more wearable! Fleece lined sound heavenly today…

  21. February 10, 2014 1:22 PM

    Ooh, the spots are lovely and I like your blue jumper.

    • February 10, 2014 10:09 PM

      Thanks! It’s a Uniqlo men’s one, £15 unbelievably. I have 2 in size XS, only problem is that they are super bobbly.

  22. February 10, 2014 1:16 PM

    I love the spotty skirt! I only wear minis with tights too – I would never inflict my pale, scottish legs on anyone! :) I have yet to make the Moss or the Hemlock, or the Archer for that matter. Must get on the case!

  23. February 10, 2014 12:49 PM

    I love the spotty one. I have read polka dots are in this coming season (I’ve seen a lovely one in the recent Boden catalogue) so I’ve been perusing the web for some skirt fabric, thanks for reminding me of the trouser fabric.

    • February 10, 2014 10:08 PM

      It’s really nice fabric, think they have it in a few colours as well!

  24. February 10, 2014 11:05 AM

    I LOVE the spotty skirt I wish I was so good with a sewing machine and could make one! :)

    http://cassiefairy.com x

Trackbacks

  1. Done! Moss Skirt | Material Girls
  2. Me-Made-May: final round-up | Yes I Like That
  3. Me Made May 2014 week three: the sun comes out! | Yes I Like That
  4. Me-Made-May 2014: week 2 | Yes I Like That
  5. Me-Made-May 2014: Week 1 | Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,016 other followers

