Skip to content

Minerva blogging network: Leopard print Plantain

February 5, 2014

What is it about elbow patches that’s so appealing? You can’t see them when you’re wearing them. They bring up memories of geography teachers. And they’re not very useful, unless you salute people for a living, or have another job where you frequently bend your arms at a sharp angle.

But somehow they still make a garment totally irresistible. They’re the main reason I sewed up the new Deer & Doe Plantain top for my latest Minerva project.

top 2
You can see my post on the Minerva Network here, and buy the kit for this project here.

The fabric is a really nice thick double-knit, with thin stripes on the reverse. I turned up the cuffs to show the two sides:

top cuff

Here’s the enhanced elbow patch close-up. You can see the major error I made with this top, which was to make it way too tight.

I should have sized up as this fabric isn’t very stretchy. It’s still wearable, but if I make it again with a thick knit I’ll reduce the seam allowance.

back of top

I finished the neckline with stretch lycra binding from Minerva Crafts which is my new favourite thing. This pattern has a very low neckline, it must be the French influence. I hoicked it up an inch when cutting out.

Here’s the front where you can see my standard ‘take the photo already’ face.

top 1

And that’s everything. Apart from one last thing – I miss blogging!

I’ve been so busy in January with a new job and various other New Year type things that I haven’t had a chance to write any posts.

I have tons of sewing projects to post about and lots of half-finished screeds in my head, but no time to get them out into the world. This sucks. Hopefully I’ll be back to a regular blogging schedule soon.

p.s. did you see the Great British Sewing Bee starts again in two weeks?? I am seriously, sadly excited about this.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 17, 2014 8:43 AM

    Just wanted to tell you that I ordered the kit from Minerva and made this! I am back to sewing after a long gap, and am not experienced in sewing with knits. I am loving sewing with Ponte! The fabric is such a good choice for this top! I love it! I’ve blogged about it if you want to have a look: http://linda-lindasphotoblog.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/i-made-top.html Thank you!

    • February 17, 2014 2:59 PM

      Hi Linda, that’s so amazing! I’m so happy you liked the fabric and the pattern, your version looks wonderful.

  2. February 7, 2014 9:39 PM

    Really nice, looks so cosy .I’ll have to try this pattern out.

  3. Donna permalink
    February 6, 2014 8:17 PM

    It looks cute! I hope you can get good use out of it! ;)

  4. February 6, 2014 7:55 PM

    The fabric is great. What I love about the Minerva makes is being able to see such a wide variation of fabrics made up.

  5. February 6, 2014 4:41 PM

    Looks cosy. I’m afraid I can’t get past the stereotype of elbow patches enough for me to wear them.

  6. February 6, 2014 2:57 PM

    I’m working on this pattern too after seeing all the lush variations on the interweb. Yours is so cool, love your choice of fabric.

  7. February 6, 2014 1:04 PM

    Ooh I love this doll. You know how I feel leopard print :) hope the new job is going well xxx

  8. February 6, 2014 7:12 AM

    Great fabric choice and thanks for the neckline tip! Yes, what is it about elbow patches that are so appealing?! I hadn’t noticed the great British sewing bee was starting again soon so thanks for the tip off!

  9. February 5, 2014 11:45 PM

    Kathryn, I love this so much! I made my Dixie DIY Hot Coco Sweater out of very similar material!

  10. February 5, 2014 9:21 PM

    Oh I like it, great fabric choice. I’m counting down to GBSB! :)

  11. February 5, 2014 7:47 PM

    This is so cute! I love the print on you! I should raise the neckline like you did next time I make this- I prefer the look of yours.

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May 2014: week 2 | Yes I Like That
  2. Me-Made-May 2014: Week 1 | Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 935 other followers

