Skip to content

New Liberty Prints Spring/Summer 2014

January 17, 2014

How’s everyone holding up this January? I’m doing okay, thanks for asking. Unlike the Arctic temperatures of 2013, the weather in London is surprisingly mild. Also, I haven’t pledged to give up alcohol/sugar/fatty foods so I’ve been consuming all three with gusto, which always helps.

To be honest I think February and March are probably the worst months of the year anyway. It’s a long slog until the Easter bank holidays.

Anyway, enough misery, here’s something to cheer you up. Liberty have released their new range of fabrics for 2014!

It’s based on the London store, with different designs representing each department. This is my favourite, and I don’t usually like novelty fabrics. But I’ve fallen hard for this one:

ss14libe1041034b

It’s ‘Forget-me-Nots’, and it’s based on the contents of a lady’s handbag, although for some reason they have left out the lidless biros, crumpled up tissues and chocolate bar wrappers that live at the bottom of my bag. I love how meta it is with the tiny Liberty prints on the hairspray, notebook and purse.

It comes in four colourways but this lilac and yellow one is my fave. If you like it, for heavens sake don’t buy it for £22 on the Liberty site, you can get it for £14.25 a metre at Shaukat here.

Here’s my second favourite, called ‘Holly':

holly

It’s based on the texture of ripped jeans, overlaid with splattered ink. I love the more abstract Liberty prints and this is a beauty. You can buy it from Shaukat here.

The rest of the collection is all very nice, but has lots of little floral prints which aren’t really my thing. You can see the whole range here.

Incidentally, did you saw the recent TV documentary about Liberty? One jaw-dropping fact that I can’t stop thinking about is that their top customers spend over £40,000 a year there. I’m not sure whether to feel disgusted or envious about this. I definitely wouldn’t pass up the chance to do a Supermarket Sweep style trolley dash in Liberty.

p.s. how do you all feel about sewing with Liberty lawn? It has a very crisp, almost cold feel to it for such a delicate fabric, with not much drape. I think it can be tricky matching it to the right pattern – sometimes I prefer it as an accent rather than a full garment. The prints are so gorgeous though…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2014 7:57 AM

    I love sewing with liberty tana lawn and have made hubby a couple of shirts, a bridesmade dress for my daughter and most recently some baby clothes. It sews up beautifully, doesn’t fray, presses beautifully. I particularly like that second print, haven’t seen those in Aus yet, thanks for the post about them

  2. Sheree permalink
    January 23, 2014 4:46 PM

    I have always loved Liberty. I must admit I think they made a mistake in showing a behind the scenes programme. It spoilt my illusions about the store as I don’t think they came across particularly well. Having said that, the fabric is beautiful quality and the prints always special. Like Sam, a favourite for me is the Alexandra print. I went to the Shaukat shop last summer and having looked around was just about to leave when an assistant suggested I look downstairs. Stupidly I wasn’t even aware that there was a downstairs! Never, have I seen so much fabric. Absolutely amazing.

  3. January 20, 2014 9:05 AM

    Like Christy I also sew way too often with Liberty. I feel that I and my machine always behave better with it. I love the two prints you’ve chosen and definitely need to get some of the Holly.

  4. January 20, 2014 8:52 AM

    I’ve never sewn with Liberty lawn, the prints are normally a bit too floral for me. I do like the new Alexandra print though, inspired by the Jewellery Room.

  5. January 19, 2014 3:17 AM

    Wow, these prints are really cool! I love them! I’m especially intrigued by the first one– so cute! I’ve never sewed with Liberty lawn, although I have been hoarding a piece for a couple of years.

  6. January 18, 2014 8:35 PM

    I love Tana Lawn, I have few pieces in my stash waiting to be made up. The art deco prints are my favourites, I have a dress, short sleeve bodice & gathered skirt, in the red and blue Ianthe every time I wear it I get a compliment.
    When I was a teenager I worked as a Saturday girl on the dress fabrics when they had a store in Chester. I just loved it.
    I saw the recent programme and I loved the lady who was the fabric print designer. I think she had been there all her working life and said that she felt she was born to do that job.

  7. January 18, 2014 4:07 PM

    I have tons of bought shirts made with Liberty lawn fabric. I love them as the cotton is of such good quality that they travel well and can be washed and hung and worn without ironing if need be. They are also cheerful during a dark winter…well, anytime of the year! I even made a Sewaholic Cambie last year in the tana lawn that is my favourite thing I made last year. This year I’ll definitely make some shirts and possibly even a skirt or shirt dress. I’m leaning towards the quintessentially art-deco inspired prints such as the mauverina, although I do like the flowers! I have kind of a tomboyish style, so I think the flowers can be played down depending on what you wear them with.

  8. January 18, 2014 12:30 AM

    These are super cute! I’ve been loving all the Liberty Archers that have been popping up. The small scale florals are great for a button up shirt. :)

  9. January 17, 2014 10:29 PM

    I like the ‘handbag bits’ print thoigh can’t think what I’d make with it, it would suit a vintage style shirtdress well I think. Some other lovely prints in the collection, though I should man up and cut into the Liberty I already have before even thinking about buying any more.

  10. January 17, 2014 9:10 PM

    I looks Liberty TAna Lawn to sew with. I made a great Laurel blouse with it, but is appreciate it can be quite project specific. It it lovely to sew with, though.

    I love the novelty fabric, but not sure what I’d make with it. Maybe a make up bag or something? It is really pretty!

  11. January 17, 2014 8:56 PM

    Oooh, pretty new Liberty fabric! I really like the second one, has such texture to it.

  12. Miriana permalink
    January 17, 2014 8:48 PM

    Liberty sell some pretty pricey clothes for that £40k

  13. January 17, 2014 8:29 PM

    I sew with Liberty so often if should be criminal! I have already scooped up two new prints from this collection, at least one will be an Archer. You should absolutely pick up some of that top fabric.

  14. January 17, 2014 7:30 PM

    I like sewing with the lawn, I actually have two projects lined up using them! They do tend to feel a bit stiff at first, but I find they soften up greatly with wash and wear. The prints are very high quality and don’t seem to fade at all.

  15. January 17, 2014 6:32 PM

    I really like the second print, the first is too novelty for my taste. I just inherited a bunch of old liberty lawns, no idea what I will do with them as I am really not a woven fabric fan, I love the liberty jerseys though.

  16. January 17, 2014 6:25 PM

    I said exactly the same thing about lawn – don’t like it as a texture. Have you felt the poplin? I’m wondering if it would work for outlandish printed trousers. The jersey is gorgeous too of course but doesn’t come in all the lovely prints.

Trackbacks

  1. New Liberty Prints SpringSummer 2014 Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,016 other followers

