Skip to content

Burda 7863 version 2 – brown jeans of glory

March 4, 2013

I made some more jeans! Hooray!

Once again, I’ve totally struggled to get any decent photos of these. I couldn’t wait any longer to show them off though. Hope you can get the general idea.

brown jeans 1

Burda jeans

They’re made of brown fabric from Mandors in Glasgow. According to the label it was used by Burberry to make jodhpurs, and it really is ridiculously stretchy. It’s almost like a cross between a jersey and a woven, with great recovery.

Top-stitching on fabric as stretchy as this was what you might call an interesting experience.

pattern pieces

My pattern pieces look so terrible. I must get them traced off. I am embarrassed to admit I used brown parcel tape in desperation when I lost my scotch tape. Do you trace off your pattern pieces? I didn’t even realise that was a thing people did until this year. Shameful.

I made a few alterations from last time, including scooping out the back curve a smidgen, shortening the crotch by 2cm both front and back, and attempting a tiny bow leg alteration at the knee.

brown jeans 3

brown jeans 2

You can see I’ve still got a few folds under the bum but generally I think the fit is a lot better. Not sure what those drag lines are on the back thigh but I’ve decided not to worry about it.

trousers and hair

I used a new find, a double jeans needle, to do most of the topstitching. These jeans were total THREAD HOGS. I used up two and a half spools! Of course I managed to sew over the metal zipper halfway through construction and broke my lovely and expensive new needle, but it was fun while it lasted.

Like last time, I sewed them in a different order to the pattern envelope – first the inside legs (and topstitched), then the fly, then the outside legs (and topstitched down to thigh level), then the back seam.

I copied the pockets from my RTW Uniqlo jeans again and I’m super happy with them.

brown jeans back

I wasn’t sure if these jeans would get worn or not. It’s all because of my school uniform which was brown and ‘camel’ (ie. sickly yellow). If you made it to A-levels, you could wear any clothes you liked, as long as they were brown, white, or cream. I’m sure you can imagine how uplifting we all looked sitting in the sixth form common room. Truly a rainbow of beige.

Anyway those two years put me off brown for life. I think the last time I wore trousers of this hue I was 16 and off to see Blur at Bournemouth International Centre dressed in my best corduroy flares.

But times have changed! Damon Albarn is not nearly as fresh-faced, I can buy a pint without any fake ID, and I no longer have to worry about revising for my maths GCSE.

So I think these jeans have broken the curse. It helps that they’re unbelievably comfortable. I’ve already planned the next version in bright blue stretch twill. And this time I’m thinking RIVETS. Oh yes.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 2:14 PM

    Oooh, these are so cute! I love them! But blech– I can’t imagine a school uniform in browns and beiges! Ugly!

  2. March 6, 2013 10:17 PM

    Man that brings back memories, I too wore cords in the 90s! Yes I trace all my patterns now, actually find it kinda relaxing! These look awesome, well done and thanks for the memories!

  3. March 5, 2013 10:04 PM

    RIVETS?! You’re amping it right up! These look fabulous lovely lady. I know what you mean about school uniform associations, but you got to put it behind you. My uniform was black trousers, white shirt and the world’s brightest shade of red cardigans. It took me a while, but you see how much red I rock these days! It’s cathartic to let it go… hehe! Seriously though, these are killer. The top stitching looks so good xxx

  4. Kelly permalink
    March 5, 2013 9:13 PM

    These jeans looks great, and I really like the color! How awesome to be developing a go-to pattern for jeans.

  5. March 5, 2013 5:57 AM

    Congratulations on your jeans, they look good. Ha ha, I think I wore corduroy flares when I saw Blur in Melbourne 15 years ago!

  6. March 5, 2013 3:35 AM

    Love your jeans! They look like they are comfy AND fit great. I have just recently started tracing, and the swedish tracing paper clings to the fabric much better than the tissue. Biggest bonus is that my dogs and kids can run over my stuff and it survives! (that might not be a common issue, though)

  7. March 4, 2013 11:38 PM

    LOL, I love the name of these jeans. :-) I am a chicken or something, because I trace every pattern–even the ones I can get for 99 cents at the-store-that-shall-not-be-named. Though considering the amount of slicing and dicing I do on my patterns, it’s really nice to have an uncut one in case I screw up royally.

  8. March 4, 2013 9:48 PM

    I only discovered tracing this year, so you’re not alone! But having cut a pattern too small before, I think it’s worth doing.

    Once again your jeans look amazing! Great job again!

    We had a not very strict school uniform, but most people wore black or grey – apart from one guy who single handedly rocked the brown school uniform look for the whole of sixth year. And yes, it was the (sadly very early) 90′s!

  9. March 4, 2013 6:38 PM

    They are awesome!
    I have the same issue with black trousers which make me think of my school uniform and various bar uniforms and are not indicative of fun.

  10. March 4, 2013 6:37 PM

    your jeans rock and I must grab that pattern. Im not a fan of tracing… i don’t do it.. lol living it dangerously!

Trackbacks

  1. 2013: A Sewing Review | Yes I Like That
  2. 2013 Sewing resolutions – how did I do? | Yes I Like That
  3. Minerva Blogging Network: Black skinny jeans (Burda 7863, again) | Yes I Like That
  4. Bright blue stretch skinny jeans: Burda 7863 | Yes I Like That
  5. Me-Made-May 13: Days 18 to 25 | Yes I Like That
  6. Me-Made-May-13 Week 2: featuring sunshine, rain, and a Lego robot | Yes I Like That
  7. Me-Made-May 2013 – first week! + Maudella denim skirt | Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

