Skip to content

Giveaway results and Burda looky likey dress

December 15, 2012

Thanks to everyone who entered the DIY Fashionista giveaway! I was going to rope in my boyfriend to do the whole numbers-picked-from-a-hat thing. Unfortunately I’ve caught a disgusting Christmas cold and feel too feeble to organise anything that involves getting up from the sofa. So it’s good old random.org to the rescue.

random number

Comment number 18 was from Not Found. I’ve emailed you to get your address, Sarah – hope you enjoy the book! If you haven’t seen Sarah’s blog before, you should definitely check it out for some beautiful photos and musings.

In other news, take a look at these two dresses.

burda-and-biba-dresses

On the left, we have the cover dress from Burda Dec 2012. And on the right, we have this Biba long sleeved ‘Mirren’ maxi dress from House of Fraser. The drape is reversed, but otherwise there’s quite a resemblance.

I really like the look of the HoF dress, although I’m unconvinced by the ‘Biba’ Revival. I certainly don’t think it’s worth three hundred quid, especially as it’s made from polyester and lined with nylon (mmm, sweaty).

I’d love to make a dress like this, using the Burda pattern and a shimmery, drapey gold fabric. Unlikely to happen any time soon but the idea’s there if anyone else wants to have a go…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2012 12:22 PM

    Thankyou :D
    The Burda dress definitely appeals to me more – less horizontal folding at the hips. I’ve got a couple of older Burda magazines and one of them has something that looks quite similar in.

  2. December 16, 2012 1:09 AM

    Personally, I like the look of the Burda dress better, and I think it would also make a gorgeous winter season wedding dress…though I remember you saying that’s not quite your wedding style. Although if you chose an unconventional color, it might be worth a second look? (I haven’t been a follower long enough to successfully guess at your favorite colors, but maybe a fire orange? Or a pale buttery yellow? One of those silks that shimmers into different colors?)

Trackbacks

  1. My First Burda Style Dress « Sewing & Diy « Vanessa Vancour

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

