Skip to content

Digital print dress from a vintage 60s pattern

November 20, 2012

So, I’ve never claimed to be the fastest seamstress in the world (or even in Stoke Newington). But 7 months from fabric to completion is probably some kind of record. Yes, I finally made something with the beautiful fabric given to me by Our Patterned Hand in, ahem, May.

And here it is:

Ta da!

I actually finished this more than a month ago, but I wanted to re-take the photos in some better light. However the chances of daylight, the dress, and my photographic assistant all coinciding any time in the 2 months are slim to non-existent, so these would have to do.

Thank you SO much to Our Patterned Hand for this amazing fabric. I dithered for months about what to make, and settled on this 1960s pattern I got in a job lot on Ebay years ago.

As you can see, I’m meticulously careful with my vintage patterns

I love the hair and the Pat Butcher earrings on the envelope.

The only change I made was adding a bias strip along the high waist line. I put in an invisible zip without great success – I think that’s what’s caused this pulling on the back (although partly it’s just the way I’m slouching)

I’ve had it up to here with invisible zips. My special Bernina foot just grabs on to them and puckers the fabric. I’m taking this one out and putting in a lapped one, I think.

I just need somewhere to wear this now! It may well end up being my birthday dress in a couple of weeks.

Here’s a close-up of the awesomeness of the fabric.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Kat H permalink
    November 21, 2012 10:19 PM

    Gorgeous! That fabric is divine and the dress shows it off wonderfully – nice choice! :-)

  2. November 21, 2012 9:18 AM

    Love the fabric, love the dress. You look fabulous in it.

  3. Donna permalink
    November 21, 2012 9:03 AM

    Love, love, love it! That fabric goes perfectly with the pattern. :)

    • November 21, 2012 10:14 AM

      Thanks! Just can’t believe it took me 7 months to decide! Must speed up my pattern/fabric decision making processes…

  4. November 21, 2012 6:46 AM

    It’s beautiful! I love the fabric and you’d never guess it was a vintage silhouette, it looks really fresh.

    • November 21, 2012 10:13 AM

      Aw thanks, was worried it looked a bit 90s when I finished but I guess that’s back in fashion anyway (apparently)

  5. November 21, 2012 2:07 AM

    LOVE this! It’s a great balance of vintage and modern! What cool fabric!

    • November 21, 2012 10:12 AM

      Thanks, I wanted to do something vintage-y as I thought it would contrast well with the fabric :) x

  6. November 20, 2012 11:24 PM

    You look like a lovely willow. I love this on you!

  7. November 20, 2012 10:55 PM

    Very nice. Style patterns are apparently awesome-did you find a difference in ease between the Style one and other envelope companies (for the same period)? Re the zipper, I find using a regular zipper foot gives me better results than the invisible zipper foot (or you might just want to get a transparent invisible zipper foot for more control over where you’re going)..

    • November 21, 2012 10:12 AM

      It was a nicely drafted pattern, the skirt in particular is lovely. Didn’t have to make many changes except for lengthening the bodice as usual. Haven’t sewn with a 60s pattern in a while tho so not much to compare it to recently.

      What technique do you use with a regular zipper foot? The problem with the Bernina invisible zipper foot is that the groove almost seems too small for the zippers I can get here, they sort of get stuck in it so the fabric all puckers. Hmmm.

  8. November 20, 2012 10:33 PM

    what a fab dress. Love it

  9. November 20, 2012 10:16 PM

    That IS really beautiful – and you look beautiful wearing it. I wish I had long, languorous limbs like yours!

    • November 20, 2012 10:23 PM

      Thanks Karen, that’s the nicest phrase for ‘lanky’ I’ve ever heard! There are good things about being tall I guess, apart from the enormous feet.

  10. November 20, 2012 10:07 PM

    Nice! I think the floaty skirt nicely mirrors the watery print.

    Re wool: ball band says shade 411 so now presumably discontinued but close to 410 indigo. In the interests of full disclosure, some balls are missing their bands and one seems to have a couple of split areas caused I think by being shoved into a plastic drawer full of wool. All balls unused and from same dye lot. If you’d like to swap your 7 green balls of wool email me your address to kestrelmail (at) gmail.com and will get them posted off.

    • November 20, 2012 10:20 PM

      My wool is in pretty much the same condition :) I’ll email you with the deets

  11. November 20, 2012 9:59 PM

    Looks great – worth the effort – and the delay!

  12. November 20, 2012 9:51 PM

    Ooh! I’m so jealous. I’ve loved that fabric ever since they’ve had it in but not been sure what to make of of it.. Now I know!

    • November 20, 2012 10:19 PM

      Thanks! I think it would make a great peplum top too, nearly went for that but changed my mind at the last minute.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 929 other followers

