Skip to content

Moth Love from Tatty Devine

November 13, 2012

Have you ever had clothes moths?

Our old Victorian house was totally riddled with them. You couldn’t get a cardigan out of a drawer without discovering a new hole. Eventually we traced them back to a large, rolled-up carpet in the basement that was acting as a huge moth housing complex. There were generations of families living in that thing.

They don’t seem to have followed us to our new flat (yet), but apart from the evil clothes variety, most moths are beautiful. No, really.  Moths are much cooler than butterflies.

That’s why I love this moth necklace from Tatty Devine:

Isn’t it amazing?

I have to admit I’m biased as I spent lots of this summer freelancing at Tatty Devine, part of which was writing product descriptions for their AW12 range. Probably the best job ever (all day looking at and writing about gorgeous jewellery – yes please). But the moths are definitely my favourite. They also do a green moth necklace, which is expensive but beautiful, and moth brooches and earrings too.

What do you reckon, are moths creepy or attractive? Here is a clue as to the right answer:

p.s. You can also get these amazing iron-on moth patches for nibbled clothing from Twisted Twee.

p.p.s. I’m thinking moths should be the new Etsy/hipster wildlife of choice, replacing foxes, birds, cats, bears, trees, and deer etc etc etc

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Dorothy permalink
    February 16, 2014 5:02 AM

    There is a lovely book about a moth collector called A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter.

    • February 17, 2014 3:02 PM

      Sounds interesting, I will have to look for that!

    • Dog wander permalink
      February 25, 2014 6:50 PM

      It’s a very old book – my granny read I as a girl & still talks about it :)

  2. November 18, 2012 11:30 PM

    Oh I love the tatty devine necklace. WANT!

  3. November 18, 2012 8:57 PM

    Fun summer job! The brown necklace is beautiful and although, in general, I don’t like fluttery things, I would be willing to make an exception. x

  4. November 13, 2012 7:38 PM

    Oh yeah, I think you launched the new trend! :)

  5. November 13, 2012 3:46 PM

    Whether moths are creepy or not is determined largely by how close to me they are fluttering. ;-) But there are definitely some moths that are beautiful. I love the jewelry you posted, those are gorgeous and unique. :-)

  6. November 13, 2012 3:25 PM

    Hi Kathryn, As owner of many moth eaten garments, I love the moth patches. We were doing alright in our current house for about 5 years, and then they arrived. Also found a carpet harbouring a heap of the devils too, which exploded like something out of a horror movie when unfurled. Don’t quite feel the moth-love anymore.

  7. November 13, 2012 2:24 PM

    I can totally see what you find beautiful about them, but I’m afraid I’m in the ‘find them creepy’ camp. The first one on the necklace is especially scary, it’s got the same skull face as the one from Silence of the Lambs… ! x

    • November 13, 2012 3:22 PM

      I see what you mean, maybe I like it because I’ve never seen the film! (I am FAR too much of a wimp to watch any horror films). xx

  8. November 13, 2012 2:10 PM

    Very pretty and a bit more subtly stylish than butterflies.

    p.s How do you get a cool job like freelancing for Tatty Devine?! Jealous! :)

    • November 13, 2012 3:22 PM

      Luck, basically! :) I have also done my fair share of less than glamorous freelance work… glad to have a permanent job again now! x

  9. November 13, 2012 1:43 PM

    the last two are amazing – the grean one would look beautiful on my new Renfrew! I have gone throught to Tatty Divine, and may have to add a few items to my Christmas list – thank you!

    • November 13, 2012 3:22 PM

      I love Tatty, have a fair bit of stuff from there! Great for Christmas.

  10. November 13, 2012 1:18 PM

    I like them, I also like butterflies. Moth’s antennae (or whatever they’re called, I don’t think that’s the right word…) are beautiful and intricate. That last moth is stunning, and I think will become inspiration for a colour palette for a dress! The browns and greys with that hint of raspberry is divine!

    • November 13, 2012 3:23 PM

      Definitely approve of taking colour schemes from moths. There are some neon ones that are incredible.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 918 other followers

