Skip to content

Colours on the canal

April 19, 2012
tags: , ,

One of the things I like about walking along the canal (where I took my Scout tee pictures) is all the colour you can see. I spotted my favourite thing on the boat below: lovely rusty old flaky paint.

Rusty boat

We ended up at Victoria Park. I always forget how massive it is! There’s a lovely wide road on a gradient that’s so great for cycling on, you can glide all the way along. There’s always kids learning to ride there.

I reckon free-wheeling down a hill on a bike is the closest thing we can get to the feeling of flying. That’s why I don’t really understand the whole fixed gear thing – on a fixie you’d be pedalling away like a hamster in a wheel the whole way down. Ah well, I guess we all have our hobbies.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 10:40 PM

    Tres atmospheric. Be aware though, peeling paint on boats is effing evil. Boat paint is infused (nom nom) with the most toxic brine-tolerant apoptosis-inducing anti-life chemicals. It needs to be but that doesn’t make it any less dangerous…

  2. April 22, 2012 3:57 AM

    So cool! What great pics!

  3. April 20, 2012 8:51 AM

    I love rusty old boats too. They tell a story with their colour, dont they. Lovely pics.

  4. April 20, 2012 8:43 AM

    That first one is lovely. I want to live on a (fully-plumbed) houseboat! x

    • April 20, 2012 8:53 AM

      Me too! But only in the summer, ideally I’d spend winters in my Italian villa…

  5. April 20, 2012 7:59 AM

    Aw lovely photos. I only noticed the man playing a cello the second time I looked at them! x

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 981 other followers

