Skip to content

Scout woven tee in yellow gingham

April 15, 2012

I made a new top! It’s a t-shirt pattern designed for woven fabric, from grainline studios.

Scout woven tee in yellow gingham

Here’s the details:

Pattern: Scout woven tee from grainline studios, which you can buy here

Material: (Allegedly) Paul Smith yellow gingham from Fabrics Galore, left over from my sunshine dress.

Alterations

  • I added a pocket, because of my sick compulsion to add stupid tiny pockets to everything.
  • I put three lines of shirring just below the shoulder seam line.
  • I folded my neckline bias binding to look a bit like faux piping, which is not in the instructions.
  • It was tiny bit too big, so I tapered in the sides quite a lot. I sewed a 8, next time will prob go for a 6.

Sadly we have not suddenly sprouted a graffiti wall in our flat, these photos are from a bike-ride down the canal to Victoria Park.

I really like this pattern. It’s very customisable and it’s QUICK, coming in at just 2.5 TAL units*. If  you put a seam down the back, as I did, you can make it with a tiny amount of fabric.
* ie. I listened to two and a half This American Life episodes while cutting out and sewing.
I love the drafting on this with the slightly forward shoulder seams. The sleeves are just a tad too puffy for me, but that’s mostly down to my material, which is a fine but very crisp shirt fabric.

Hopefully this will be the first of many. It’s perfect for those special patterned fabrics that need a simple pattern to really show them off. Highly recommended.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 5:24 PM

    Ha! Yes, I use This American Life episodes as a measure of time too! I think this might be my favourite episode: http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/199/house-on-loon-lake

  2. April 16, 2012 9:16 AM

    nice basic – love the gingham. and the pcoket (useless, perhaps; fab, YES).

  3. April 15, 2012 8:53 PM

    Super cute! I’m dying for a Scout top (or two)!

  4. April 15, 2012 6:43 PM

    I am so very jealous of that yellow gingham!
    (ps. How much do you love Ira Glass?!)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 929 other followers

