Skip to content

70s style Jasmine blouse, from Colette Patterns

March 5, 2012

Here’s my second Jasmine blouse, from Colette Patterns.

The first one has already gone to the charity shop. I foolishly made it out of some extremely cheap floral polyester which had all the drape and charm of hessian. The combination of the puffed sleeves and the garish print made it look like an early 90s Country Casuals piece.

This one is made from some of the swap fabric I got at the Brighton sewing meet-up, courtesy of Julia from The Secret Life of Seams. I love this floral print, it feels a bit 70s.

I did like the fit of the first version I made, but I wasn’t so keen on the use of a facing to finish the neckline. I’ve noticed that you hardly ever see facings on tops and dresses in RTW. I only have one dress that uses this method, and it’s a big pain to wear as as the facing constantly flips up.

So with this one, I finished the neckline with some bias binding – here is a good tutorial if you’d like to do the same.

I didn’t use the collar pieces from the pattern, as I wanted a longer bow that was easier to tie (inspired by this version from The Sewing Cafe). Instead I used a long bias strip, about 12cm wide, which was attached using the same method they give you in the pattern instructions. Here’s a close-up:

This gives you a lovely draping bow that doesn’t ripple on the edge. You might be able to tell that my tie ends aren’t both the same length – this was a deliberate creative decision (oh alright, I measured them wrong).


The third thing I changed was the sleeves. I took out the ease so the sleeves weren’t puffed, and finished off the sleeve hem with elastic in a casing.

This is a lovely pattern, but the fit is a bit strange on me – I had to significantly take in the front and back centre seams at the top, which has resulted in some strange pulling in the shoulder area.

It’s such a nice style though, I think I’ll make a third version and try and figure out the issues. I’d like to try using the Colette collar pattern pieces in a contrast colour. But I’m going to ditch the facing permanently. Down with facings I say!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2013 12:34 PM

    what size did you make it?

    • May 8, 2013 12:37 PM

      Hmm, I can’t remember now, will dig out my pattern to have a look. The fit was all kinds of weird on me, I had to massively bring in the front and back seams at the top…

  2. March 14, 2012 5:35 PM

    ooh lovely!! Florals are great for spring. :)

  3. March 13, 2012 5:16 PM

    This looks lovely. And I love the fabric!

  4. March 10, 2012 9:14 PM

    Ooh, I like the changes you’ve made to the pattern! You look cute as can be in this style!

  5. March 10, 2012 8:14 PM

    I like this shirt and the fabric. Very pretty on you.

    I agree about the use of facings. It’s so silly and cumbersome. I’ll remember your tip next time I run across a pattern like this.

  6. March 8, 2012 1:18 PM

    Love the print on the 2nd version.and thanks for linking to my blog at sewing cafe:) Looks like I need to pick up some cotton prints for this pattern now….

  7. March 7, 2012 1:36 PM

    Such a cute top! Great fabric choice.

  8. March 6, 2012 12:04 PM

    Ooh that is so lovely darling! You look like the fabulous Barbara from the Good Life. You’ve got the fit down to a T well done.

    xxx

  9. March 5, 2012 7:33 PM

    Absolutely nothing like MT, thank goodness! This is gorgeous. Great fabric and I love the bow. All your alterations paid off because it fits you beautifully.

  10. March 5, 2012 6:53 PM

    Ooh me likey!! Facings, bah who needs em!

  11. March 5, 2012 5:25 PM

    I make lots of design decisions, myself! I must need to shop at Country Casuals because I really like this!

  12. March 5, 2012 3:29 PM

    Aww, I wanna see the 90s Country Casuals version!

    • March 5, 2012 3:32 PM

      Ha ha, it may still be available in a north London charity shop! I couldn’t bring myself to model it for posterity.

  13. March 5, 2012 1:14 PM

    very nice indeed! Looks great in the swap fabric! thanks for the tips re bias binding instead of facings – I’ll definitely try that when I get around to making this.

    • March 5, 2012 1:50 PM

      Thanks Shivani! Now I need to figure out what to make with the rest of my swap fabric…

  14. March 5, 2012 12:58 PM

    Ooh very nice. I say down with facings too, they’re a real pain. I really like your tip for the bow – I regret making my version with the crappy little tie – next time round I’m going to use your tips and make a huge Mrs Slocombe-style bow! Nice fabric too. x

    • March 5, 2012 1:01 PM

      I definitely think Mrs Slocombe style is the way forward. It also reminds me a bit of Maggie Thatcher but will try to forget that aspect! x

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

