Skip to content

Kimono sleeve jersey top: Burda 09-2011

February 7, 2012

I started buying Burda magazines in 2008, when I discovered a local newsagent stocked them. (I’m not telling you which one in case somebody else nips down there and takes my copy. Don’t even think about it. He only stocks two.)

But I can count on the fingers of one hand the amount of clothes I’ve actually sewn from them.

This isn't all of them. They hide round the house.

It’s such a gigantic pain, and I am very lazy. Cutting out is already my least favourite part of sewing, and now Burda want me to trace off the pattern as well??

But where they win out is if you need a simple pattern for a top or a skirt. You’ll find it somewhere in a back issue for free, rather than having to pay 6 quid or more for a brand new pattern. So my 2012 sewing resolution is to make the most of my Burda stash.

I haven't quite got the hang of 'I'm a little tea-pot' yet

This top was a pretty easy start, it’s only got two pieces so it wasn’t too hideous to trace (using a spiked wheel, as explained by Melissa of Fehr Trade. Please do not risk your sanity by trying to actually trace the patterns with blank paper on top.)

It’s from the 09-2011 Burda issue, which I nearly didn’t buy as I have little use for a dirndl and/or traditional folk-style waistcoat, which make up the bulk of the issue (see paunnet’s post for an amusing overview).

I do, however, love jersey tops with kimono sleeves.

I’m also obsessed with sewing tiny little useless triangular pockets. I once bought a t-shirt with this detail from M&S (the glamour never stops round here), and since then I’ve added an identical pocket to every knit top I make. They are totally pointless, unless you need to store some loose Polo mints or perhaps a single pound coin, but I like them anyway.

This fabric is from Ultimate Craft. The stripes are a little bit too close together and it hurts to look at it for a long time, the whole thing starts to flicker like one of those Magic Eye pictures.

So to break up the eye-hurtiness, I lowered the neckline and used this brilliant tutorial from CraftStylish to add a finishing band. I sewed the whole thing on my overlocker, except for the hem and sleeve finishes (twin needle).

I’ve noticed that in most RTW, the grown-on sleeve only extends to the elbow or above, and below that a tube of fabric is sewn as a little sleeve extender. This is probably to save fabric, but I like the way it looks with stripes so I used it here (the pattern as written has a grown-on sleeve all the way down to the elbow).

I’m definitely making another one of these from the lovely leopard-print fabric I got from Claire at the Brighton swap. Two thumbs up for Burda.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 8:22 PM

    I forgot to post on this when I first read it but I’m so pleased you posted about this top. Like Shivani I was coveting it over the stash swap lunch! The pocket is a great addition and I like the way the sleeve extension brings even more stripe directions into play. Now I have to go see if I have that Burda in my pile!

  2. February 8, 2012 3:16 PM

    Really cute! I like the little pocket!

  3. February 7, 2012 9:16 PM

    Swit-swhoo! Amazing top, lovely lady!
    xxx

  4. February 7, 2012 9:07 PM

    The collar is lovely! Looks great. Love the sleeves too. x

  5. February 7, 2012 1:36 PM

    I have way more Burda’s than I’ll ever need too, but I can’t buy them off the stand around my part of the world so subscription it is. You top is really nice, yes a little hypnotic, but you broke up the stripes nicely.

  6. February 7, 2012 1:10 PM

    I really love this top too. In fact I’ve got some perfect striped fabric I was going to use for another Renfrew but I want to make this one instead now. Do you know if Burda magazine do back issues?

    • February 7, 2012 1:28 PM

      I’m not sure, I find the whole Burda empire a bit confusing to navigate now they’ve merged everything! Shall I bring along the issue for you to borrow when we meet up for the John Paul Flintoff workshop? (or post it if you need it before then!) Don’t think I’ll be making anything from it for a while, have lots of other issues to plunder first…

    • February 7, 2012 2:07 PM

      Jane, I found this pattern on their website: http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/092011-striped-top?image=220904 – it for £5.60 (but at least you don’t have to trace it out!) x

    • February 7, 2012 2:09 PM

      Ooh yes please, that would be great. Thanks so much. x

    • February 7, 2012 4:33 PM

      Me again. Don’t bother to bring the magazine thanks Kathryn, I’ll just buy the pattern – I HATE tracing stuff! Thanks very much for the link Shivani. x

    • February 7, 2012 10:22 PM

      No problem, let me know if you change your mind. I can’t decide what is worse, tracing patterns or sticking together printer sheets of paper. I think I need a sewing butler to do both! x

  7. February 7, 2012 1:08 PM

    That is one neat top. The neckline is perfect. Best I check out that tutorial…. finishing a jersey neckline is one of the reasons I don’t make these! I completely understand the need for one of those pockets too! I think buying Burda magazines is more obsession than need, or even need to save. I do find them very inspirational though, and I love the realization of knowing I have the right issue when a lovely project like this pops up!! Thank you for sharing :-)

  8. February 7, 2012 12:43 PM

    That is really lovely.

  9. February 7, 2012 12:41 PM

    I really love this top, and had serious top-envy all day on Saturday! I haven’t tried knits yet – but now I have an overlocker, there’s no excuse really! And I really need to get myself down to Ultimate Craft! x

  10. February 7, 2012 12:02 PM

    What a great top – I really love the chevrons on the sleeve seam!

    I’m like you, I have a tonne of Burda magazines, but have yet to really make anything out of them! I did try and make what I thought was quite a simple skirt one time…and it turned into ‘wadder’…so I have been a bit nervous to try anything else! But, again like you, I plan on making some patterns from the Burda mags this year.

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May: final round-up | Yes I Like That
  2. Me Made May 2014 week three: the sun comes out! | Yes I Like That
  3. Me-Made-May 2013: The Final Countdown | Yes I Like That
  4. Me-Made-May 13: Days 18 to 25 | Yes I Like That
  5. Leopard print lovely – Burda 9/2011 « Yes I Like That
  6. Scout woven tee in yellow gingham « Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 929 other followers

