Skip to content

Cabled jumper time

November 26, 2011

I really like Peter Jensen’s knitwear. I’m quite bad at knitting garments that I actually want to wear, but I knew I wanted  a crew-neck cabled jumper, something like this (without the blue tights)

I started with the Placed Cable Aran, from Interweave Knits 2007, but messed around with it a lot, taking out the cowl neck, and dropped shoulders, adding ribbing at the bottom, and knitting it in the round with top-down sleeves.

The yarn is Jo Sharp Silkroad DK Tweed which I bought in a sale when I’d just started knitting about 6 years ago, so technically this jumper was COMPLETELY FREE.

I’m not a very good jumper or cardigan knitter. I start off with the best intentions, knit half super-fast, and then get bored and shove it in a plastic bag at the back of a cupboard where it sits mouldering gently in the dark. So, this one took me about, er, a year and a half to do.

But at least for once I’ve finished a project in sync with the appropriate season (also apparently crew-necks are back in –  once again procrastination has served me well)

The yarn kind of obscures the cables, but it’s very light and beautifully warm. It’s more of a rich plummy colour than it appears in these pictures, with flecks of bright orange, burgundy, deep blue and white.

I finished it about 2 months ago, but it’s only just got cold enough to wear it (what’s up with the weather in the UK at the moment? Any meteorologists care to explain?).

Wool does have amazing insulating qualities. Knitting has turned me into a complete yarn snob – polyester jumpers just won’t  cut it any more. Check out the Wovember campaign for some gobsmacking examples of shops completely mislabelling garments – £110 for a pair of ‘wool’ tights that are actually cotton and acrylic? Bargainous.

p.s. Some people commented on my wedged desert boots, aka the Best Shoes Ever – it would be remiss of me not to tell you that they’re 20% off at the moment on the Clarks website – but only until tomorrow! The code is BOOTSNOV

p.p.s. Clarks have not sponsored this post (sadly) but if they’d like to send me a free pair of boots (size 8, either dark blue or dark red, not fussy) I will happily rename my blog ‘Clarks shoes are amazing’ or something similar.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. hamamnights permalink
    May 16, 2012 11:37 PM

    Great jumper! A year and a half is fast – compared to how long my jumpers are taking me.

  2. December 7, 2011 10:35 PM

    What a sweet sweater… errr, jumper! Just found your blog via BurdaStyle and I’m glad I did!

  3. November 27, 2011 11:14 AM

    Bad at knitting?? You clearly don’t know bad at knitting! This looks great. I want some Clarks boots too but it might have to wait until Christmas… x

  4. November 26, 2011 9:50 PM

    LOVE the jumper, especially twinned with the shorts. Thanks for mentioning that Clarks discount. Yeah, thanks a lot. You just cost me a lotta money… ;-)

  5. November 26, 2011 5:49 PM

    Your jumper looks beautiful! jasmine x

    • November 26, 2011 5:56 PM

      Thank you! It’s taken me so long to get photos of it! But it took me long enough to knit it as well I guess xx

Trackbacks

  1. Three birthday wishes « Yes I Like That

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,016 other followers

