Skip to content

Vintage finds – Inn Sign Cocktail Sticks

November 5, 2011

Genuine Inn Sign cocktail sticks

My mum found these ‘Genuine Inn Sign cocktail sticks’ at the very back of a cupboard in my Gran’s kitchen. I fell in love with them immediately and took them home to admire.

The packaging is perfect – the 50s chartreuse green, the mix of typefaces, the copy and the illustrations on the back:

Back of cocktail sticks
They’re such an incongruous mix of swinging 50s modernism and Ye Olde England mythology. Each cocktail stick is a miniature pub sign from a ‘Coaching Inn of England’. I wonder how many are still open today.

Inn signs

‘Coaching Inn’ reminds me of Georgette Heyer novels, heroines eloping with Regency cads on uncomfortable horse-driven trips to Gretna Green.

Inn signs back

My mum thinks my Grandad must have bought these – I wonder when, and where? They’ve been in the back of a cupboard for 50 odd years, obviously too nice for everyday.

Martini olive

 I’m don’t think my grandparents were the type to need tiny novelty sticks for their cocktail olives on a regular basis. They were from Shropshire, not the natural home of the martini.

Stay put swinging sign

I haven’t taken them out of the packaging, I don’t think I ever will. They look nice propped up on the bookshelf in our living room though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jimmy Beer permalink
    August 23, 2013 6:16 PM

    I’ve got a package too. I think I found ‘em in a box of mixed stuff at a yard sale here in Hamilton, On. Canada. I like them a lot. Mine are of old inns of Yorkshire. Kind of a neat novelty at the time I suppose. Mine travelled a long way from Yorkshire. I don’t know what else to say but “Cheers!” From Jimmy Beer

  2. kaye permalink
    March 10, 2012 6:18 PM

    Hello there,

    Just to let you know I found the very same item in a charity shop in Inverness. They brought memories of Edinburgh.

    Nice find

    Regards
    or cheers

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

