Skip to content

The bright front doors of Islington

October 15, 2011

It was another beautiful sunny day today in London. There’s a bit of a chill in the air but no clouds to be seen.

Sunshine in Angel

I found a park today near Angel tube station that I’ve never seen – Duncan Terrace Gardens. It’s really just a narrow strip of trees between Duncan Terrace and Colebrooke Row, which has recently been re-planted and done up. Apparently Charles Lamb once lived there, which explains the name of the pub just round the corner (it sells lovely pies as well. And beer).

The house owners on Duncan Terrace have all painted their front doors different colours, they looked super-bright and cheerful in the sunshine.

yellow front door

I’m posting them here as I think this behaviour should be encouraged.┬áIn fact, it should probably be illegal to paint your front door black. A nice colourful front door cheers everyone up.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 10:02 PM

    Couldn’t agree more re spritely front door behaviour! I’m particularly liking mine: fire engine red and in place of the old stained glass panel I put a panel of black chalkboard, so I can leave messages on my front door! Right now it reads, “Dear Mr Postman, if I don’t answer please deliver parcel to neighbour”. Doing my bit to brighten up Harlesden.

    • November 20, 2011 10:07 PM

      I love that! Genius. We have a tiny curtain over our front door glass panel as the hallway light in our block of flats is left on all night. It’s a bit twee (hand-sewed by me) but I love it anyway.

  2. October 28, 2011 9:37 AM

    I have a black front door and I’d much rather it be The light green as you found here!

  3. October 16, 2011 8:09 PM

    What a beautiful spot! I love the way that they are enhanced by the sunshine too. Great photos! :-)

  4. October 16, 2011 6:56 AM

    My cycle route to work takes me down Duncan Terrace! I was in Islington yesterday, too.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 981 other followers

